Essex v Derbyshire
County Championship 1970
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 15th, 17th, 18th August 1970 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEssex won by 66 runs
PointsEssex 18 (Batting 6, Bowling 2); Derbyshire 8 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresOW Herman, AEG Rhodes
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 30/2 (Swarbrook 10*, Wilkins 10*; 11 overs)
Close of play day 2Essex (2) 34/0 (Edmeades 24*, Ward 10*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BEA Edmeadesc Taylor b Russell67     
B Wardc Taylor b Russell27     
GJ Savillec Russell b E Smith13     
G Barkerc Page b Russell2     
SC Dinsdalelbw b Ward6     
KD Boycec Taylor b E Smith70     
*+B Taylorc Page b Russell17     
S Turnerc Page b Swarbrook41     
RNS Hobbsc Taylor b E Smith28     
RE Eastst Taylor b Buxton45     
DL Acfieldnot out12     
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 1 nb)13
Total(all out, 89.5 overs)341
Fall of wickets:
1-54, 2-100, 3-103, 4-123, 5-125, 6-207, 7-211, 8-268, 9-297, 10-341 (89.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ward20   31011--
Russell31   10714--
Swarbrook16   0721--
E Smith17   4673--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DHK Smithc Taylor b Turner1     
FW Swarbrooklbw b Boyce90     
MH Pagec and b Turner8     
CP Wilkinsc Turner b Boyce93     
JF Harveyc Turner b Edmeades12     
*IR Buxtonc Dinsdale b Hobbs56     
+RW Taylorb Boyce14     
PE Russelllbw b Boyce3     
E Smithnot out3     
A Wardb Boyce0     
PJK Gibbsabsent hurt
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 106.4 overs)288
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-13, 3-155, 4-172, 5-257, 6-281, 7-283, 8-288, 9-288 (106.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Turner33   21012--
Hobbs12   5281--
Acfield7   2190--
Edmeades11   1361--
East4   1200--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BEA Edmeadesc Wilkins b E Smith69     
B Wardc Harvey b Russell14     
GJ Savillec Page b Russell8     
G Barkerrun out12     
SC Dinsdalec Harvey b Swarbrook13     
KD Boyceb Swarbrook33     
*+B Taylornot out19     
S Turnerb Russell8     
RNS Hobbsnot out16     
RE Eastdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Total(7 wickets, declared, 60 overs)192
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-62, 3-103, 4-103, 5-148, 6-151, 7-164
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ward13   4390--
Buxton4   1100--
Russell21   4433--
Swarbrook8   1392--
E Smith7   2411--
Wilkins7   1200--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DHK Smithb Boyce6     
FW Swarbrookc Boyce b Hobbs30     
MH Pagec Turner b Boyce3     
CP Wilkinsc Acfield b Hobbs90     
JF Harveyst Taylor b Hobbs0     
*IR Buxtonst Taylor b East6     
+RW Taylorc Taylor b Hobbs19     
PE Russellb Hobbs10     
E Smithc Turner b Hobbs2     
A Wardc Taylor b Hobbs7     
PJK Gibbsnot out2     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb)4
Total(all out, 57 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-27, 3-65, 4-65, 5-95, 6-157, 7-157, 8-168, 9-176, 10-179 (57 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyce13   4352--
Turner8   2270--
Hobbs19   5597--
Acfield7   3130--
East10   2411--

--> SC Dinsdale made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> GJ Saville (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 8
--> FW Swarbrook (1) passed his previous highest score of 34 in first-class matches
--> FW Swarbrook (1) passed his previous highest score of 34 in County Championship matches
--> IR Buxton (1) passed 9500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> RNS Hobbs (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> FW Swarbrook (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 19
--> FW Swarbrook reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex first innings
--> KD Boyce reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> KD Boyce reached 300 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Derbyshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive