Essex v Leicestershire
County Championship 1968
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 17th, 18th, 19th August 1968 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultEssex won by 76 runs (single innings match)
PointsEssex 10; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresCS Elliott, H Mellows
ScorersWH Ashdown (Leicestershire), CV Jenkinson (Essex)
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2No play

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Wardc Tolchard b Birkenshaw35     
BEA Edmeadesc Inman b Birkenshaw30     
G Barkernot out50     
KWR Fletcherlbw b Knight6     
BL Irvinec Knight b Birkenshaw9     
KD Boycenot out47     
*+B Taylordid not bat      
S Turnerdid not bat      
RNS Hobbsdid not bat      
RE Eastdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 1 nb)4
Total(4 wickets, declared, 53 overs)181
Fall of wickets:
1-63, 2-75, 3-86, 4-109
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cotton8   1460--
Spencer3   0220--
Birkenshaw20   7493--
Barratt13   5320--
Knight9   1281--

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MR Hallamc Turner b Lever9     
MEJC Normanc and b East8     
BJ Boothst Taylor b East17     
CC Inmanc Taylor b Turner33     
PT Marnerb East0     
BR Knightb East8     
J Birkenshawnot out13     
+RW Tolchardc Ward b East1     
RJ Barrattc Hobbs b East5     
J Cottonc Hobbs b Turner0     
CT Spencerc Taylor b East0     
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)11
Total(all out, 31.4 overs)105
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-23, 3-76, 4-76, 5-79, 6-92, 7-96, 8-103, 9-103, 10-105 (31.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever4   191--
Turner12   2342--
Edmeades2   0140--

--> MEJC Norman (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 3
--> BJ Booth (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 2
--> BR Knight reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive