Leicestershire v Kent
County Championship 1963
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 5th, 6th, 7th June 1963 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 0; Kent 2
UmpiresR Aspinall, WFF Price
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), C Lewis (Kent)
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 46/1 (Richardson 26*, Denness 1*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 87/1 (Bird 50*, Birkenshaw 6*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MR Hallamc Catt b Dixon30     
HD Birdst Catt b Underwood83     
J Birkenshawc Catt b Underwood7     
S Jayasinghec Richardson b Dye21     
CC Inmanc Jones b Underwood45     
A Whartonnot out28     
J van Gelovenc Luckhurst b Underwood0     
+R Julianc Luckhurst b Underwood4     
CT Spencerb Brown3     
JS Savagec Luckhurst b Brown3     
BS Boshierc Richardson b Brown0     
Extras(7 b, 3 lb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 96 overs)235
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-81, 3-120, 4-191, 5-200, 6-200, 7-204, 8-207, 9-229, 10-235 (96 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown20   7493--
Dixon21   5471--
Dye15   3551--
Underwood29   12505--
Jones11   5230--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*PE Richardsonc Julian b van Geloven131     
BW Luckhurstc Julian b Boshier14     
MH Dennessc Julian b van Geloven12     
SE Learyst Julian b van Geloven8     
AL Dixonc Julian b Spencer6     
RC Wilsonb Savage45     
PH Joneslbw b Spencer0     
+AW Cattc Birkenshaw b Savage33     
A Brownlbw b van Geloven8     
DL Underwoodc van Geloven b Spencer21     
JCJ Dyenot out2     
Extras(7 b, 9 lb, 5 nb)21
Total(all out, 94.5 overs)301
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-141, 3-157, 4-181, 5-181, 6-181, 7-259, 8-270, 9-283, 10-301 (94.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boshier23   8571--
van Geloven25   4704--
Birkenshaw7   0260--
Savage16   3472--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MR Hallamb Dye25     
HD Birdc Underwood b Luckhurst73     
J Birkenshawst Catt b Dixon22     
S Jayasinghec Leary b Dixon1     
CC Inmanc Wilson b Dye19     
A Whartonc Catt b Denness41     
J van Gelovennot out47     
+R Julianst Catt b Richardson19     
CT Spencerc Wilson b Richardson9     
JS Savagenot out2     
BS Boshierdid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)14
Total(8 wickets, declared, 99 overs)272
Fall of wickets:
1-60, 2-128, 3-129, 4-130, 5-161, 6-213, 7-253, 8-268
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown18   6380--
Dixon16   2462--
Dye10   1302--
Underwood16   10280--
Jones7   640--
Luckhurst11   3231--
Leary8   3210--
Denness8   1361--
Richardson5   0322--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*PE Richardsonc Birkenshaw b Spencer27     
BW Luckhurstnot out37     
MH Dennessc Hallam b Jayasinghe14     
SE Learynot out32     
AL Dixondid not bat      
RC Wilsondid not bat      
PH Jonesdid not bat      
+AW Cattdid not bat      
A Browndid not bat      
DL Underwooddid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb)3
Total(2 wickets, 32 overs)113
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-58
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer3   0301--
Boshier4   0130--
van Geloven3   220--
Birkenshaw5   390--
Jayasinghe5   071--
Inman3   0160--
Bird5   2110--
Hallam4   2220--

--> PE Richardson (1) passed 21500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 95
--> DL Underwood (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> DL Underwood (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in County Championship matches
--> DL Underwood achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 4-40)
--> DL Underwood achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 4-40)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive