Leicestershire v Glamorgan
County Championship 1962
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 28th, 30th, 31st July 1962 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to field
ResultGlamorgan won by 5 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 0; Glamorgan 14 (Batting 2)
UmpiresRSM Lay, JH Parks
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), HJ Jeffreys (Glamorgan)
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 121/1 (Rees 6*, Lewis 1*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 24/2 (Bird 10*, Kirby 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Whartonc Evans b Wheatley4      
HD Birdc Walker b Shepherd30      
S Jayasinghec Pressdee b Walker23      
*D Kirbyc Lewis b Walker2      
J van Gelovenc Evans b Shepherd23      
GF Crosslbw b Walker0      
RL Prattc Walker b Shepherd1      
+R Julianlbw b Shepherd2      
CT Spencerc Rees b Shepherd4      
JS Savageb Walker5      
BS Boshiernot out0      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 1 w)3
Total(all out, 63.5 overs)97
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-52, 3-54, 4-67, 5-68, 6-77, 7-79, 8-88, 9-97, 10-97 (63.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
IJ Jones11   1250--
Wheatley14   7201--
Walker21   12254--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Harrisb Spencer38      
B Hedgesb Spencer72      
AHM Reesnot out37      
AR Lewislbw b Boshier5      
A Jonesnot out26      
JS Pressdeedid not bat      
PM Walkerdid not bat      
+DGL Evansdid not bat      
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
*OS Wheatleydid not bat      
IJ Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(3 wickets, declared, 60 overs)182
Fall of wickets:
1-106, 2-128, 3-133
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer25   7502--
Boshier16   3641--
van Geloven7   1320--
Pratt12   1320--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Whartonc Hedges b Wheatley12      
HD Birdlbw b Wheatley24      
S Jayasinghelbw b Wheatley1      
*D Kirbyb Walker10      
J van Gelovenc Rees b Shepherd8      
GF Crossc A Jones b Shepherd6      
RL Prattc Shepherd b IJ Jones47      
+R Julianc Hedges b Walker35      
CT Spencerb Wheatley6      
JS Savagenot out2      
BS Boshierc IJ Jones b Walker0      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)11
Total(all out, 71 overs)162
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-22, 3-52, 4-54, 5-61, 6-102, 7-134, 8-160, 9-162, 10-162 (71 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
IJ Jones18   3471--
Wheatley27   13314--
Walker18   8273--
Shepherd8   3462--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Harrisb Spencer18      
B Hedgesb Boshier10      
AHM Reesc and b Spencer8      
AR Lewisc Julian b Pratt4      
A Joneslbw b Spencer4      
JS Pressdeenot out26      
PM Walkernot out5      
+DGL Evansdid not bat      
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
*OS Wheatleydid not bat      
IJ Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(5 wickets, 31.4 overs)78
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-27, 3-40, 4-42, 5-49
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer14   2263--
Boshier9   2311--

--> A Jones (2) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3
--> DJ Shepherd reached 1250 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> A Harris retired hurt in the Glamorgan first innings having scored 38 (team had lost 1 wickets) - he returned when the score was 128/2





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive