West Zone v South Zone
Duleep Trophy 1961/62 (Final)
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 20th, 21st, 22nd, 23rd October 1961 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Zone won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWest Zone won by 10 wickets
UmpiresS Roy, KB Saxena
Close of play day 1West Zone (1) 28/0 (Adhikari 9*, Contractor 18*)
Close of play day 2South Zone (2) 3/1 (Jaisimha 0*)
Close of play day 3West Zone (2) 62/0 (Adhikari 21*, Contractor 35*)

South Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ML Jaisimhac Umrigar b Desai35     
+M Venkatesh Raob Umrigar8     
AG Milkha Singhc Engineer b Umrigar3     
S Abid Alic Nadkarni b Umrigar24     
*AG Kripal Singhc Ramchand b Nadkarni73     
V Subramanyast Engineer b Umrigar1     
PK Belliappac Nadkarni b Umrigar0     
SVS Manilbw b Nadkarni23     
EAS Prasannarun out1     
U Prabhakar Raob Umrigar4     
GI Kasturirangannot out2     
Total(all out, 58.6 overs)175
Fall of wickets:
1-38, 2-46, 3-46, 4-78, 5-81, 6-94, 7-153, 8-165, 9-171, 10-175 (58.6 ov)
West Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Desai13   0521--
Ramchand10   2210--
Surti4   280--
Umrigar18   4526--
Borde2   060--
Gupte5   0290--

West Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SG Adhikarirun out29     
*NJ Contractorc Prabhakar Rao b Kripal Singh39     
RF Surtib Kripal Singh11     
CG Bordenot out82     
PR Umrigarc Jaisimha b Kripal Singh20     
GS Ramchandc Venkatesh Rao b Prasanna12     
RG Nadkarnic Abid Ali b Kripal Singh4     
DN Sardesaic Subramanya b Prasanna2     
+FM Engineerc Jaisimha b Prasanna14     
RB Desaib Kasturirangan14     
BP Guptedid not bat      
Total(9 wickets, declared, 80.5 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-61, 2-78, 3-84, 4-121, 5-140, 6-156, 7-175, 8-203, 9-234
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prabhakar Rao11   1400--
Jaisimha2   090--
Kripal Singh27   4664--
Prasanna23   2693--
Subramanya2   040--

South Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ML Jaisimhalbw b Ramchand19     
+M Venkatesh Raoc Engineer b Desai2     
S Abid Alic Nadkarni b Desai0     
AG Milkha Singhb Desai0     
*AG Kripal Singhc Engineer b Ramchand10     
V Subramanyab Desai5     
PK Belliappac Surti b Ramchand5     
SVS Manilbw b Gupte36     
EAS Prasannab Ramchand2     
U Prabhakar Raonot out48     
GI Kasturiranganc Umrigar b Gupte6     
Total(all out, 59.5 overs)139
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-5, 3-5, 4-32, 5-33, 6-41, 7-49, 8-110, 9-118, 10-139 (59.5 ov)
West Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Desai14   3514--
Ramchand11   4184--
Surti3   070--
Umrigar9   640--
Borde9   4250--
Nadkarni6   340--

West Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SG Adhikarinot out30     
*NJ Contractornot out44     
RF Surtidid not bat      
CG Bordedid not bat      
PR Umrigardid not bat      
GS Ramchanddid not bat      
RG Nadkarnidid not bat      
DN Sardesaidid not bat      
+FM Engineerdid not bat      
RB Desaidid not bat      
BP Guptedid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 14 overs)82
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kasturirangan3   0240--
Prabhakar Rao2   0150--
Jaisimha2   080--
Kripal Singh3   050--
Prasanna1   040--
Belliappa1   090--
Milkha Singh1   030--
Abid Ali1   060--

--> NJ Contractor (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> U Prabhakar Rao (2) passed his previous highest score of 23 in first-class matches
--> PR Umrigar reached 250 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the South Zone first innings
--> RB Desai reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the South Zone second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive