Hampshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1959
VenueCounty Ground, Southampton on 22nd, 24th, 25th August 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 7 wickets
PointsHampshire 14 (Batting 2); Leicestershire 0
UmpiresAE Fagg, JH Parks
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), N Drake (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 80/2 (Gray 38*, Baldry 9*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 148/7 (Smith 12*, Savage 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Harrison b Shackleton7     
*W Watsonretired hurt1     
D Kirbyc Sainsbury b Shackleton5     
LR Gardnerb White40     
J van Gelovenrun out21     
AC Revillc and b White23     
GW Burchc Harrison b Sainsbury11     
RC Smithc Shackleton b Burden9     
CT Spencerc White b Sainsbury10     
JS Savagec Gray b Shackleton11     
+GA Hickinbottomnot out0     
Extras(3 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 78.3 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-19, 3-72, 4-89, 5-104, 6-115, 7-119, 8-139, 9-143 (78.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
White16   1412--
Gray9   830--
Baldry5   280--
Burden19   5581--
Sainsbury8   642--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RE Marshallb Spencer16     
JR Grayc Spencer b van Geloven45     
H Hortonc sub b Savage12     
DO Baldryc Savage b Smith25     
HM Barnardc Hallam b Savage45     
*ACD Ingleby-Mackenzielbw b Smith5     
PJ Sainsburyc Spencer b Savage9     
+L Harrisonc Revill b Smith1     
D Shackletonc Gardner b van Geloven12     
DW Whitenot out5     
MD Burdenc Hallam b Spencer0     
Extras(13 b, 2 nb)15
Total(all out, 86.3 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-60, 3-98, 4-125, 5-135, 6-160, 7-169, 8-173, 9-186, 10-190 (86.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
van Geloven21   3522--
Savage25   10493--
Kirby3   210--
Smith16   8293--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Sainsbury b Shackleton13     
D Kirbyc Gray b Burden24     
J van Gelovenc Barnard b Sainsbury27     
LR Gardnerc Harrison b Burden19     
AC Revillc Barnard b Sainsbury37     
GW Burchb Sainsbury14     
RC Smithc and b White25     
CT Spencerb Sainsbury0     
JS Savagec Marshall b White1     
+GA Hickinbottomnot out4     
*W Watsonabsent hurt
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(all out, 84.4 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-45, 3-77, 4-87, 5-131, 6-140, 7-148, 8-155, 9-166 (84.4 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shackleton18   8291--
Gray3   300--
Burden23   7712--
Sainsbury30   15384--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RE Marshallc Revill b Savage20     
JR Graynot out68     
H Hortonc Hickinbottom b Savage22     
DO Baldryb Savage0     
HM Barnardnot out5     
*ACD Ingleby-Mackenziedid not bat      
PJ Sainsburydid not bat      
+L Harrisondid not bat      
D Shackletondid not bat      
DW Whitedid not bat      
MD Burdendid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)5
Total(3 wickets, 46.4 overs)120
Fall of wickets:
1-48, 2-103, 3-103
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer4   0160--
van Geloven3   0260--
Kirby3   140--
Smith17   8280--

--> JR Gray (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 44
--> D Kirby (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 10
--> D Kirby (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> J van Geloven (2) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 25
--> RE Marshall (2) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 2
--> D Shackleton reached 1600 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> J van Geloven reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> JS Savage reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> W Watson retired hurt in the Leicestershire first innings having scored 1 (team had lost 0 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive