Transvaal v Western Province
Currie Cup 1958/59 (Section A)
VenueNew Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 13th, 14th, 16th February 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWestern Province won the toss and decided to field
ResultTransvaal won by 104 runs
PointsTransvaal 6; Western Province 0
UmpiresA Birkett, JD Forsyth
Close of play day 1
Close of play day 2

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Varnalslbw b Pothecary1      
PH Kinsleyc Wynne b Westcott65      
WE Patrickc Ferrandi b Drummer8      
+S O'Linnc Ferrandi b Westcott22      
*AI Taylorb Pothecary3      
PR Carlsteinc Ferrandi b Westcott1      
GG Ritchiec Ferrandi b Drummer24      
JP Fellows-Smithrun out17      
KA Walternot out9      
KL Gibbsb Pothecary2      
BD Thorpc Ferrandi b Pothecary1      
Extras(1 nb, 2 w)3
Total(all out, 64.4 overs)156
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-20, 3-86, 4-89, 5-102, 6-109, 7-136, 8-144, 9-147, 10-156 (64.4 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Drummer14   3352--
Westcott13   1443--
Fouche3   0150--
van der Merwe3   130--
Maile3   070--
Wynne1   060--

Western Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RJ Westcottc Kinsley b Walter16      
WL Taylorc Ritchie b Gibbs0      
GAS Innesb Walter6      
JBR Mailerun out1      
OE Wynneb Thorp8      
+JH Ferrandic O'Linn b Walter35      
MHH Richardsonc Carlstein b Thorp10      
JE Pothecaryc Ritchie b Walter6      
PL van der Merweb Gibbs13      
FTM Drummernot out12      
MR Foucheb Gibbs5      
Extras(2 lb, 8 nb)10
Total(all out, 48.4 overs)122
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-12, 3-15, 4-26, 5-43, 6-46, 7-71, 8-96, 9-108, 10-122 (48.4 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walter17   5364--
Thorp13   6192--
Fellows-Smith7   1230--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Varnalsc Ferrandi b Maile49      
PH Kinsleylbw b Pothecary17      
WE Patrickrun out26      
+S O'Linnst Ferrandi b Maile7      
*AI Taylorc Wynne b Pothecary55      
PR Carlsteinlbw b van der Merwe31      
GG Ritchiec Ferrandi b Maile59      
JP Fellows-Smithlbw b van der Merwe40      
KA Walterc Ferrandi b Maile1      
KL Gibbsc Innes b Drummer36      
BD Thorpnot out15      
Extras(2 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)7
Total(all out, 125.5 overs)343
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-118, 3-126, 4-139, 5-190, 6-190, 7-290, 8-298, 9-301, 10-343 (125.5 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pothecary19   4502--
Westcott5   1160--
Fouche15   5440--
van der Merwe28   6822--
Maile30   7674--

Western Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RJ Westcottc O'Linn b Walter13      
WL Taylorc O'Linn b Gibbs1      
GAS Innesc O'Linn b Walter106      
JBR Mailec O'Linn b Fellows-Smith35      
OE Wynnelbw b Fellows-Smith0      
+JH Ferrandic O'Linn b Thorp5      
MHH Richardsonb Fellows-Smith69      
JE Pothecarylbw b Thorp6      
PL van der Merweb Walter24      
FTM Drummerlbw b Fellows-Smith2      
MR Fouchenot out0      
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 5 nb, 2 w)12
Total(all out, 122.5 overs)273
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-39, 3-40, 4-119, 5-121, 6-238, 7-243, 8-253, 9-273, 10-273 (122.5 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walter27   4683--
Gibbs19   7271--
Thorp29   7682--
Ritchie7   0240--
Taylor9   2240--

--> PH Kinsley (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in first-class matches
--> BD Thorp made his debut in first-class matches
--> MR Fouche made his debut in first-class matches
--> WE Patrick (2) passed his previous highest score of 25 in first-class matches
--> GG Ritchie (2) passed his previous highest score of 42 in first-class matches
--> OE Wynne made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> MR Fouche made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JE Pothecary achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Transvaal first innings (previous best was 4-100)
--> RJ Westcott achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Transvaal first innings (previous best was 2-21)
--> KA Walter achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Western Province first innings (previous best was 4-41)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive