Middlesex v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1958
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 7th, 8th, 9th May 1958 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultMiddlesex won by 2 wickets
PointsMiddlesex 12; Nottinghamshire 0
UmpiresD Davies, AED Smith
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 34/6 (Poole 6*, Goonesena 4*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 116/2 (NW Hill 27*, Simpson 10*)

Middlesex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JDB Robertsonc NW Hill b Jepson35     
RA Galec Goonesena b Taylor61     
DO Baldryc Millman b Jepson1     
FJ Titmusc Smales b Jepson2     
+JT Murraylbw b Cotton14     
DA Bicknot out64     
RA Whitec Smales b Goonesena7     
D Bennettb Cotton43     
AE Mossc and b Cotton0     
*JJ Warrnot out18     
RJ Hurstdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 1 nb, 1 w)8
Total(8 wickets, declared, 91.2 overs)253
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-69, 3-85, 4-100, 5-120, 6-143, 7-200, 8-208
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cotton20   2853--
Jepson28   11663--
Goonesena19   4501--
Smales12   880--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JD Springalllbw b Moss0     
+G Millmanc Murray b Bennett0     
NW Hillc Gale b Moss0     
*RT Simpsonb Moss13     
K Smalesc Bick b Moss10     
M Hillb Bennett1     
CJ Poolec Robertson b Moss28     
G Goonesenac Titmus b Warr26     
A Jepsonc Hurst b Warr7     
PA Taylornot out5     
J Cottonc Gale b Bennett1     
Extras(4 w)4
Total(all out, 30.3 overs)95
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-2, 4-23, 5-24, 6-24, 7-72, 8-83, 9-90, 10-95 (30.3 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moss15   3455--
Warr5   1132--

Nottinghamshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
JD Springallc Murray b Warr50     
+G Millmanc Murray b Warr25     
NW Hillc White b Titmus48     
*RT Simpsonc Robertson b Warr16     
M Hillb Moss67     
CJ Poolec Baldry b Bennett71     
G Goonesenac Bick b Moss10     
K Smalesb Bennett13     
A Jepsonc Murray b Bennett17     
PA Taylornot out9     
J Cottonc Warr b Bennett2     
Extras(2 b, 8 lb, 2 nb)12
Total(all out, 111 overs)340
Fall of wickets:
1-68, 2-105, 3-124, 4-182, 5-218, 6-242, 7-257, 8-283, 9-333, 10-340 (111 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moss29   9782--
Bennett22   2814--
Warr22   7613--
Baldry3   1130--
Gale5   1150--
Hurst10   5210--
Titmus20   5591--

Middlesex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JDB Robertsonc Simpson b Goonesena47     
RA Galelbw b Jepson28     
DO Baldryc sub b Goonesena28     
FJ Titmusc Simpson b Jepson12     
+JT Murrayst Millman b Goonesena6     
DA Bickb Jepson9     
D Bennettc Millman b Goonesena6     
AE Mossb Goonesena28     
RA Whitenot out10     
*JJ Warrnot out9     
RJ Hurstdid not bat      
Total(8 wickets, 42.1 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-54, 2-102, 3-107, 4-120, 5-126, 6-136, 7-138, 8-168
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cotton6   0310--
Taylor4   0170--
Jepson17   3613--

--> RA White made his debut in first-class matches
--> RA White made his debut in County Championship matches
--> PA Taylor made his debut in first-class matches
--> PA Taylor made his debut in County Championship matches
--> J Cotton made his debut in first-class matches
--> J Cotton made his debut in County Championship matches
--> JDB Robertson (1) passed 30000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> DA Bick (1) equalled his previous highest score of 64 in County Championship matches
--> DO Baldry (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> AE Moss (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in County Championship matches
--> AE Moss (2) passed his previous highest score of 26 in first-class matches
--> D Bennett reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings
--> G Goonesena reached 200 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Middlesex second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive