Worcestershire v South Africans
South Africa in England 1955
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 7th, 9th, 10th May 1955 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWorcestershire won by 117 runs
UmpiresD Davies, LH Gray
Close of play day 1South Africans (1) 31/1 (Goddard 13*, Waite 17*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 155/6 (Whitehead 34*, Jenkins 0*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Kenyonlbw b Heine58      
PE Richardsonb Heine0      
LF Outschoornc Cheetham b Tayfield80      
G Dewsc Goddard b Murray39      
RG Broadbentst Waite b Tayfield4      
MJ Hortonb Tayfield0      
JP Whiteheadc Heine b Tayfield7      
RO Jenkinsc Tayfield b Murray10      
+H Yarnoldc Endean b Murray1      
*RTD Perkslbw b Tayfield41      
R Berrynot out0      
Extras(9 b, 11 lb)20
Total(all out, 126.5 overs)260
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-120, 3-187, 4-198, 5-198, 6-205, 7-218, 8-219, 9-260, 10-260 (126.5 ov)
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Heine16   6372--
Goddard18   11170--
Tayfield37   10935--
Mansell17   6330--

South Africans first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DJ McGlewlbw b Perks0      
TL Goddardc Yarnold b Berry47      
+JHB Waiteb Berry36      
WR Endeanc Yarnold b Jenkins32      
RA McLeanc and b Horton13      
*JE Cheethamc Yarnold b Berry4      
PL Winslowb Berry37      
ARA Murrayb Horton3      
PNF Mansellnot out14      
HJ Tayfieldc Kenyon b Berry5      
PS Heinec Horton b Jenkins14      
Extras(3 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(all out, 78.4 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-85, 3-88, 4-117, 5-122, 6-154, 7-176, 8-180, 9-190, 10-209 (78.4 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Perks11   4321--
Whitehead8   1210--
Berry30   11605--
Horton7   1272--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Kenyonlbw b Tayfield32      
PE Richardsonlbw b Tayfield12      
LF Outschoornlbw b Tayfield3      
G Dewslbw b Tayfield52      
RG Broadbentc Goddard b Tayfield10      
MJ Hortonrun out4      
JP Whiteheadnot out51      
RO Jenkinsc Waite b Mansell16      
*RTD Perksb Heine16      
+H Yarnoldc Tayfield b Heine1      
R Berryb Heine0      
Extras(8 b, 3 lb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 86.5 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-38, 3-55, 4-69, 5-74, 6-155, 7-180, 8-199, 9-209, 10-209 (86.5 ov)
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Goddard19   11320--
Tayfield30   9815--
Murray8   3150--
Mansell12   5241--

South Africans second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DJ McGlewb Horton46      
TL Goddardb Horton23      
+JHB Waiteb Berry3      
WR Endeanc Jenkins b Horton17      
RA McLeanlbw b Horton4      
PL Winslowc Dews b Horton0      
*JE Cheethamlbw b Horton13      
ARA Murrayb Horton9      
PNF Manselllbw b Horton11      
HJ Tayfieldb Horton6      
PS Heinenot out1      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 3 nb)10
Total(all out, 57.5 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-56, 2-65, 3-96, 4-100, 5-100, 6-105, 7-121, 8-136, 9-142, 10-143 (57.5 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Perks5   0180--
Whitehead4   1170--
Jenkins6   3150--
Berry20   11271--
Outschoorn1   100--

--> LF Outschoorn (1) passed 10000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 43
--> PS Heine (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 14
--> PNF Mansell (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> R Berry made his debut for Worcestershire in first-class matches
--> TL Goddard made his debut in England in first-class matches
--> PS Heine made his debut in England in first-class matches
--> ARA Murray made his debut in England in first-class matches
--> ARA Murray reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> MJ Horton achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the South Africans second innings (previous best was 4-9)
--> MJ Horton achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the South Africans second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive