South Africa v New Zealand
New Zealand in Australia and South Africa 1953/54 (4th Test)
VenueEllis Park, Johannesburg on 29th, 30th January, 1st, 2nd February 1954 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNew Zealand won the toss and decided to field
ResultSouth Africa won by 9 wickets
UmpiresDT Drew, BV Malan
Close of play day 1South Africa (1) 200/7 (Waite 24*, Tayfield 10*)
Close of play day 2New Zealand (2) 8/1 (Dempster 5*, Poore 0*)
Close of play day 3New Zealand (2) 148/6 (Sutcliffe 13*, Beck 6*)

South Africa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DJ McGlewlbw b MacGibbon61 1653- 
RJ Westcottc Chapple b Overton43 205 - 
JC Watkinsc Mooney b MacGibbon6     
WR Endeanc Sutcliffe b Overton7     
RA McLeanc Sutcliffe b Overton0     
CB van Ryneveldc Mooney b Blair11     
*JE Cheethamrun out29     
+JHB Waiterun out52     
HJ Tayfieldc Reid b Blair19     
DEJ Ironsidenot out3     
NAT Adcockb Blair0     
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 4 nb)12
Total(all out, 98 overs)243
Fall of wickets:
1-104 (McGlew), 2-112 (Watkins), 3-122 (Westcott), 4-122 (McLean), 5-125 (Endean), 6-139 (van Ryneveld), 7-174 (Cheetham), 8-228 (Tayfield), 9-243 (Waite), 10-243 (Adcock, 98 ov)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Blair19   4423--
Reid21   3670--
MacGibbon26   6572--
Overton32   10653--

New Zealand first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+FLH Mooneyrun out23 86 - 
ME Chapplec Waite b Ironside4     
MB Poorec and b Tayfield18     
*B Sutcliffec McLean b Tayfield03 -- 
JR Reidc Waite b Tayfield0     
LSM Millerb Tayfield0     
JEF Beckb Tayfield0     
EW Dempsternot out21 76 - 
AR MacGibbonst Waite b Ironside10     
RW Blairb Tayfield1     
GWF Overtonb Adcock0     
Extras(1 lb, 1 nb)2
Total(all out, 46.3 overs)79
Fall of wickets:
1-14 (Chapple), 2-34 (Mooney), 3-34 (Sutcliffe), 4-34 (Reid), 5-42 (Miller), 6-42 (Beck), 7-46 (Poore), 8-69 (MacGibbon), 9-76 (Blair), 10-79 (Overton, 46.3 ov)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ironside14   5202--
Watkins7   1170--
Tayfield14   7136--

New Zealand second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
+FLH Mooneyb Adcock2     
EW Dempsterc Waite b Watkins47 124 - 
MB Poorec Endean b Adcock0     
ME Chapplec sub (KJ Funston) b Watkins42 14331 
JR Reidc Ironside b Tayfield26 129-- 
*B Sutcliffeb Adcock23     
LSM Millerc Waite b Tayfield0 3-- 
JEF Beckb Adcock21     
AR MacGibbonb Adcock8     
RW Blairnot out5     
GWF Overtonc van Ryneveld b Ironside1     
Extras(5 b, 6 lb, 2 nb)13
Total(all out, 92.2 overs)188
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Mooney), 2-8 (Poore), 3-79 (Dempster), 4-113 (Chapple), 5-139 (Reid), 6-141 (Miller), 7-168 (Sutcliffe), 8-182 (MacGibbon), 9-183 (Beck), 10-188 (Overton, 92.2 ov)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Adcock26   8455--
Tayfield29   12482--
van Ryneveld2   0190--
Watkins12   4132--

South Africa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DJ McGlewnot out6 30 - 
RJ Westcottlbw b MacGibbon1     
*JE Cheethamnot out16  3- 
JC Watkinsdid not bat      
WR Endeandid not bat      
RA McLeandid not bat      
CB van Rynevelddid not bat      
+JHB Waitedid not bat      
HJ Tayfielddid not bat      
DEJ Ironsidedid not bat      
NAT Adcockdid not bat      
Extras(2 nb)2
Total(1 wicket, 6.2 overs)25
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Westcott)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Blair3   060--
MacGibbon3   0161--

--> GWF Overton made his last appearance in Test matches
--> DEJ Ironside made his last appearance in Test matches
--> EW Dempster (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in Test matches
--> EW Dempster (2) passed his previous highest score of 21 in Test matches
--> EW Dempster (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> GWF Overton achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed WR Endean in the South Africa first innings (previous best was 2-33)
--> HJ Tayfield reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed RW Blair, his 6th wicket in the New Zealand first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive