Middlesex v Kent
County Championship 1952
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 7th, 9th, 10th June 1952 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMiddlesex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMiddlesex won by 46 runs
PointsMiddlesex 12; Kent 0
UmpiresP Corrall, K McCanlis
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 111/5 (Edrich 27*, Ufton 15*)
Close of play day 2Middlesex (2) 262/7 (Murray 17*, Sims 9*)

Middlesex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JDB Robertsonst Ufton b Dovey84     
SM Brownc Edrich b Shirreff0     
*WJ Edrichc O'Linn b Shirreff0     
AW Thompsonb Shirreff3     
W Knightley-Smithb Dovey40     
R Routledgelbw b Wright0     
D Bennettc and b Wright0     
+JT Murrayc Mayes b Shirreff1     
JM Simsc Fagg b Wright16     
JA Youngc Murray-Wood b Shirreff5     
AE Mossnot out0     
Extras(12 b, 3 lb, 7 nb)22
Total(all out, 72.4 overs)171
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-6, 3-12, 4-80, 5-84, 6-86, 7-92, 8-137, 9-167, 10-171 (72.4 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dovey11   3222--
Wright25   7663--
Hellmuth12   4250--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Faggc Brown b Bennett9     
AC Shirreffb Moss40     
P Hearnb Bennett3     
S O'Linnc Robertson b Bennett8     
R Mayeslbw b Edrich2     
BR Edrichc Murray b Moss27     
+DG Uftonc Murray b Moss19     
*W Murray-Woodb Bennett3     
L Hellmuthb Bennett0     
RR Doveynot out2     
DVP Wrightc Young b Bennett0     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 54 overs)120
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-25, 3-41, 4-44, 5-80, 6-111, 7-116, 8-118, 9-120, 10-120 (54 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moss18   3343--
Bennett18   7326--
Edrich7   1231--
Young6   490--
Robertson3   1120--
Sims2   030--

Middlesex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JDB Robertsonc and b Shirreff19     
SM Brownc Ufton b Dovey8     
*WJ Edrichc O'Linn b Dovey126     
AW Thompsonb Dovey30     
W Knightley-Smithb Murray-Wood3     
R Routledgec Edrich b Shirreff14     
D Bennettc Mayes b Shirreff2     
+JT Murraynot out43     
JM Simsnot out45     
JA Youngdid not bat      
AE Mossdid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 5 lb, 3 nb)15
Total(7 wickets, declared, 111 overs)305
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-35, 3-113, 4-134, 5-179, 6-187, 7-217
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shirreff25   9653--
Dovey30   9583--
Wright25   5890--
Hellmuth14   7350--
Murray-Wood15   2401--
Edrich2   130--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Faggc Sims b Moss42     
AC Shirrefflbw b Young15     
P Hearnst Murray b Young80     
S O'Linnb Sims34     
+DG Uftonb Moss19     
BR Edrichnot out65     
R Mayesc Murray b Sims8     
*W Murray-Woodb Sims9     
L Hellmuthb Young1     
RR Doveyc Young b Sims20     
DVP Wrightc Knightley-Smith b Sims4     
Extras(8 b, 3 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)13
Total(all out, 104.2 overs)310
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-80, 3-142, 4-176, 5-220, 6-252, 7-262, 8-271, 9-304, 10-310 (104.2 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moss22   4552--
Bennett11   2300--
Edrich4   1190--
Young39   15953--
Robertson2   200--

--> JDB Robertson (1) passed 20000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 47
--> JT Murray (2) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> DG Ufton (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> DVP Wright (2) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> AC Shirreff achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Middlesex first innings (previous best was 4-60)
--> D Bennett achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 4-39)
--> D Bennett achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 4-39)
--> AC Shirreff reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Middlesex second innings
--> JA Young reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Kent second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive