Somerset v Yorkshire
County Championship 1952
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 3rd, 5th, 6th May 1952 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossYorkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSomerset 0; Yorkshire 0
UmpiresHG Baldwin, JS Buller
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Somerset (1) 91/6 (Rogers 15*, Lawrence 0*)

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Huttonc Buse b Hazell52      
FA Lowsonc Stephenson b Hazell37      
W Watsonnot out79      
JV Wilsonb Robinson14      
H Hallidayb Lawrence15      
EI Lesternot out37      
DB Closedid not bat      
+DV Brennandid not bat      
JH Wardledid not bat      
E Leadbeaterdid not bat      
R Appleyarddid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 2 w)3
Total(4 wickets, declared, 91 overs)237
Fall of wickets:
1-79, 2-94, 3-121, 4-144
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tremlett2   200--
Redman5   180--
Buse8   2150--
Robinson23   2861--
Hazell23   7552--
Lawrence30   8701--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Gimblettc Appleyard b Close27      
FL Angelllbw b Wardle0      
+HW Stephensonc Halliday b Close15      
MF Tremlettb Appleyard0      
HFT Buseb Close0      
BG Brocklehurstc Lowson b Close31      
SS Rogersnot out15      
*J Lawrencenot out0      
HL Hazelldid not bat      
J Redmandid not bat      
EP Robinsondid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(6 wickets, 41 overs)91
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-39, 3-40, 4-42, 5-57, 6-82
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Appleyard16   4281--
Wardle10   2201--
Close15   3404--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> EI Lester (1) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9
--> BG Brocklehurst made his debut in first-class matches
--> BG Brocklehurst made his debut in County Championship matches
--> DB Close reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Somerset first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive