Derbyshire v Hampshire
County Match 1878
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 10th, 11th, 12th June 1878 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresW Bailey, H Shaw
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 40/3 (Duncan 0*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (1) 74/7 (Tuck 3*, Tate 9*; 74 overs)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Frostc Young b Tate3     
W Rigleyc Leat b Young4     
A Shukerc Gunner b Young23     
*RP Smithb Young3     
JTBD Plattsc Duncan b Young16     
WG Curgenvenc Tate b Leat39     
T Fosterc Duncan b Young8     
W Hicktonc Young b Tate27     
G Hayc Booth b Tate0     
+A Smithc Bencraft b Leat3     
W Mycroftnot out7     
Extras(2 b, 2 w)4
Total(all out, 73.1 overs)137
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-15, 3-?, 4-?, 5-56, 6-61, 7-113, 8-119, 9-?, 10-137 (73.1 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tate31   12493--
Young27   5605--
Booth6   1140--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*C Boothb Mycroft18     
CR Youngb Hay20     
DWJ Duncanb Mycroft2     
AF Jeffreysc A Smith b Mycroft0     
WJ Kendlest A Smith b Platts13     
G Carterc and b Platts5     
+JJ Tucknot out3     
HWR Bencraftc RP Smith b Platts0     
HW Tatenot out9     
CR Gunnerdid not bat      
CW Leatdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(7 wickets, 74 overs)74
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-40, 3-40, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mycroft32   21233--
Hay23   14251--
Platts19   10223--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> CR Gunner made his debut in first-class matches
--> CR Gunner made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> CR Young achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Derbyshire first innings (previous best was 4-78)
--> CR Young achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Derbyshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive