Essex v Worcestershire
County Championship 1951
VenueSouthchurch Park, Southend-on-Sea on 4th, 6th, 7th August 1951 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsEssex 0; Worcestershire 0
UmpiresHG Baldwin, A Skelding
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 232/4 (Avery 115*, Bailey 3*)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 326/4 (Avery 166*, Bailey 46*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TC Doddsb Perks100 18010- 
AV Averynot out166 36014- 
+PA Gibbc Broadbent b Perks0     
R Horsfallst Yarnold b Jenkins0     
*DJ Insolec Outschoorn b Perks12     
TE Baileynot out46     
R Smithdid not bat      
FH Vigardid not bat      
WT Greensmithdid not bat      
KC Prestondid not bat      
LCS Jermandid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(4 wickets, declared, 108.2 overs)326
Fall of wickets:
1-169, 2-169, 3-174, 4-223
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Perks41   91193--
Flavell27   21170--
Broadbent1   040--
Howorth20   10390--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Kenyonnot out78     
E Cooperc Vigar b Smith17     
LF Outschoornc Gibb b Smith5     
RG Broadbentb Greensmith51     
G Dewsc Bailey b Greensmith0     
PE Richardsonnot out6     
RO Jenkinsdid not bat      
+H Yarnolddid not bat      
R Howorthdid not bat      
RTD Perksdid not bat      
JA Flavelldid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 4 lb)9
Total(4 wickets, 76 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-62, 3-158, 4-158
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Preston10   4140--
Jerman18   9230--
Smith26   10462--
Greensmith12   7212--
Vigar4   0260--
Insole3   0200--
Avery3   070--

--> LCS Jerman made his debut in County Championship matches
--> RG Broadbent (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 22
--> RTD Perks reached 100 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive