Leicestershire v Derbyshire
County Championship 1950
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 31st May, 1st, 2nd June 1950 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 4 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 12; Derbyshire 0
UmpiresF Chester, CH Welch
Scorers[unknown], C Blake (Derbyshire), KD Smith (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 164/1 (Berry 69*, Tompkin 90*)
Close of play day 2Derbyshire (2) 210/5 (Revill 76*, Vaulkhard 28*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CS Elliottb Sperry14     
JM Kellylbw b Walsh13     
A Hamerst Corrall b Walsh23     
AC Revillb Walsh19     
D Smithc and b Walsh34     
AEG Rhodesc Corrall b Sperry33     
*P Vaulkhardlbw b Wooler33     
+GO Dawkesc Chapman b Sperry23     
TA Halllbw b Sperry2     
DC Morgannot out5     
WH Copsonb Wooler1     
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 75.2 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-28, 3-66, 4-85, 5-136, 6-164, 7-186, 8-195, 9-208, 10-209 (75.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sperry21   3514--
Walsh22   2794--
Jackson17   5410--
Palmer4   1100--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berrylbw b Hall76     
G Lesterc Vaulkhard b Copson4     
M Tompkinc Dawkes b Morgan130     
*CH Palmerc Dawkes b Copson22     
VE Jacksonc Dawkes b Morgan4     
TA Chapmanc Smith b Rhodes4     
VS Mundenst Dawkes b Rhodes10     
CRD Woolerlbw b Rhodes1     
+P Corrallb Hall4     
J Sperrynot out12     
JE Walshabsent hurt
Extras(1 nb, 1 w)2
Total(all out, 100 overs)269
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-179, 3-212, 4-234, 5-239, 6-242, 7-247, 8-254, 9-269 (100 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Copson24   6552--
Hall24   4802--
Morgan16   6412--
Rhodes34   9843--
Smith2   170--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CS Elliottc Corrall b Lester43     
JM Kellyc Corrall b Sperry5     
A Hamerb Palmer21     
AC Revillc Palmer b Lester119     
D Smithst Corrall b Lester21     
AEG Rhodesc Wooler b Lester2     
*P Vaulkhardc sub b Lester43     
+GO Dawkeslbw b Lester4     
TA Hallc Corrall b Jackson0     
DC Morganb Jackson4     
WH Copsonnot out0     
Extras(6 b, 13 lb, 1 w)20
Total(all out, 119.1 overs)282
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-55, 3-90, 4-121, 5-141, 6-234, 7-275, 8-278, 9-282, 10-282 (119.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sperry33   7661--
Wooler17   3300--
Jackson19   8362--
Palmer12   6221--
Munden14   6210--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryc Dawkes b Hall0     
G Lesterc Kelly b Rhodes48     
M Tompkinlbw b Morgan18     
*CH Palmerc Dawkes b Rhodes51     
VE Jacksonnot out42     
TA Chapmanc Dawkes b Rhodes0     
VS Mundenc Hamer b Rhodes9     
CRD Woolernot out49     
+P Corralldid not bat      
J Sperrydid not bat      
JE Walshdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)7
Total(6 wickets, 74.4 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-51, 3-118, 4-124, 5-124, 6-138
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Copson20   6420--
Hall18   6451--
Morgan12   2461--

--> GL Berry (1) passed 26000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 12
--> GL Berry (1) passed 28000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> M Tompkin (1) passed 7000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 15
--> AC Revill (2) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 102
--> M Tompkin (2) passed 8000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 11
--> CRD Wooler (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in first-class matches
--> CRD Wooler (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in County Championship matches
--> J Sperry reached 400 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> JE Walsh reached 650 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> G Lester achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Derbyshire second innings (previous best was 6-108)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive