Hampshire v Oxford University
University Match 1949
VenueDean Park, Bournemouth on 25th, 27th, 28th June 1949 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultOxford University won by 44 runs
UmpiresJW Clark, PC Killaway
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 5/0 (McCorkell 1*, Rogers 0*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (1) 397/8 (Arnold 81*, Carty 49*)

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MB Hofmeyrc Arnold b Walker154 27518-  
B Boobbyerb Walker27      
CE Winnc Eagar b Hill37      
*CB van Ryneveldst Harrison b Bailey90      
DB Carrc Bailey b Walker16      
AH Kardarc and b Walker19      
CRD Ruddc Rogers b Bailey0      
PA Whitcombec McCorkell b Walker46      
+IP Campbellc Hill b Dare18      
RV Divechanot out1      
GH Chestertondid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 8 lb, 2 nb)18
Total(9 wickets, declared, 125 overs)426
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-115, 3-273, 4-337, 5-342, 6-342, 7-406, 8-415, 9-426 (125 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Carty23   4840--
Walker34   9835--
Hill24   5581--
Dare26   4801--
Eagar2   0210--
Bailey16   3822--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NT McCorkellb Divecha3      
NH Rogerslbw b Kardar8      
GW Dawsonlbw b Chesterton64      
J Baileyc Boobbyer b Kardar17      
*EDR Eagarc Boobbyer b Kardar118  17-  
J Arnoldlbw b Kardar84      
C Walkerb Kardar8      
G Hillst Campbell b van Ryneveld13      
+L Harrisonb Divecha8      
RA Cartyc Boobbyer b Chesterton53      
RA Darenot out4      
Extras(20 b, 5 lb, 3 nb)28
Total(all out, 153.5 overs)408
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-23, 3-47, 4-169, 5-244, 6-263, 7-294, 8-307, 9-400, 10-408 (153.5 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Divecha25   7792--
Whitcombe14   3270--
Kardar40   12785--
van Ryneveld34   91001--
Carr5   280--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MB Hofmeyrc and b Walker10      
B Boobbyerb Carty2      
CRD Ruddc Harrison b Carty0      
+IP Campbellb Carty41      
CE Winnc Rogers b Carty52      
AH Kardarlbw b Bailey48      
DB Carrc and b Hill3      
*CB van Ryneveldb Carty33      
PA Whitcombenot out9      
RV Divechanot out3      
GH Chestertondid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(8 wickets, declared, 53 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-10, 3-16, 4-107, 5-108, 6-118, 7-189, 8-203
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Carty16   2475--
Walker14   1571--
Bailey14   3381--
Hill9   0591--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NT McCorkellc Campbell b Divecha0      
NH Rogersc Chesterton b Kardar57      
GW Dawsonc Whitcombe b Kardar28      
J Baileylbw b Kardar7      
*EDR Eagarlbw b Kardar20      
J Arnoldb Kardar21      
C Walkernot out34      
G Hilllbw b Kardar1      
+L Harrisonrun out8      
RA Cartyc van Ryneveld b Kardar1      
RA Darec Winn b van Ryneveld2      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(all out, 49 overs)185
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-50, 3-68, 4-96, 5-123, 6-146, 7-153, 8-170, 9-171, 10-185 (49 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Divecha5   0291--
Chesterton6   0280--
van Ryneveld18   2641--
Kardar20   7587--

--> MB Hofmeyr (1) passed his previous highest score of 95 in first-class matches
--> MB Hofmeyr (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> EDR Eagar (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 44
--> J Arnold (1) passed 20000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 77
--> RA Carty made his debut in first-class matches
--> RA Dare made his debut in first-class matches
--> C Walker achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 2-27)
--> C Walker achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings
--> CB van Ryneveld reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> AH Kardar reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> RA Carty achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Oxford University second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive