Leicestershire v Kent
County Championship 1946
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 24th, 26th, 27th August 1946 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 259 runs
PointsLeicestershire 12; Kent 0
UmpiresJA Smart, J Tranter
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 191/5 (Jackson 16*, Watson 4*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 163/2 (Lester 60*, Tompkin 39*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GL Berrylbw b Ridgway96     
FT Prenticec Levett b Davies11     
G Lesterb Dovey47     
M Tompkinc Levett b Crush6     
WA Smithc Crush b Ridgway1     
VE Jacksonnot out39     
GS Watsonc and b Ridgway16     
A Riddingtonb Ridgway0     
JE Walshb Ridgway0     
+P Corralllbw b Crush5     
J Sperryb Crush0     
Extras(5 b, 4 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 104 overs)231
Fall of wickets:
1-39, 2-146, 3-157, 4-165, 5-183, 6-214, 7-214, 8-218, 9-231, 10-231 (104 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Harding3   0110--
Crush11   4193--
Davies30   10741--
Marsham5   1200--
Dovey31   15451--
Ridgway17   4445--
Ames7   480--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Toddc Smith b Walsh19     
JGW Daviesb Walsh11     
LEG Amesc and b Walsh7     
*BH Valentinest Corrall b Walsh2     
HA Pawsonb Walsh25     
E Crushb Walsh4     
AJB Marshamc and b Lester8     
+WHV Levettlbw b Walsh0     
NW Hardingnot out7     
RR Doveyb Walsh0     
F Ridgwaylbw b Lester10     
Extras(3 b, 2 lb)5
Total(all out, 41.3 overs)98
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-37, 3-38, 4-47, 5-51, 6-78, 7-78, 8-79, 9-81, 10-98 (41.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sperry4   270--
Jackson14   5210--
Riddington4   070--
Walsh15   3548--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GL Berryc Levett b Crush8     
FT Prenticec Dovey b Davies39     
G Lesternot out82     
M Tompkinc Dovey b Ridgway51     
WA Smithc Levett b Davies6     
GS Watsonc Harding b Ridgway7     
JE Walshnot out11     
VE Jacksondid not bat      
A Riddingtondid not bat      
+P Corralldid not bat      
J Sperrydid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 12 lb, 5 nb)21
Total(5 wickets, declared, 86 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-101, 3-177, 4-192, 5-211
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Todd2   200--
Marsham2   0100--
Ridgway16   3392--
Crush17   5431--
Davies18   6382--
Dovey24   10430--
Ames4   0120--
Harding3   0190--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Toddb Lester9     
JGW Daviesb Lester12     
LEG Ameslbw b Walsh11     
*BH Valentinelbw b Walsh0     
HA Pawsonst Corrall b Lester19     
E Crushb Walsh12     
AJB Marshamst Corrall b Walsh16     
+WHV Levettb Walsh6     
NW Hardingst Corrall b Lester0     
RR Doveyc Riddington b Walsh3     
F Ridgwaynot out1     
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 46.5 overs)99
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-28, 3-29, 4-40, 5-66, 6-72, 7-93, 8-95, 9-97, 10-99 (46.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackson4   250--
Sperry3   190--
Lester20   9224--

--> AJB Marsham made his debut in County Championship matches
--> GL Berry (1) passed 22500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 39
--> VE Jackson (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 26
--> G Lester (2) passed his previous highest score of 68 in County Championship matches
--> G Lester (2) passed his previous highest score of 68 in first-class matches
--> GS Watson (2) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 5
--> LJ Todd (2) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> AJB Marsham made his debut for Kent in first-class matches
--> JE Walsh reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Kent first innings
--> JE Walsh achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 8-90)
--> JGW Davies reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive