West Zone v South Zone
Zonal Quadrangular Tournament 1945/46
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 18th, 19th, 20th February 1946 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Zone won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn (South Zone won on first innings)
UmpiresHD Billimoria, HE Choudhury
Close of play day 1South Zone (1) 357/8 (Ram Singh 121*)
Close of play day 2West Zone (1) 291/8 (Phadkar 23*, Amir Elahi 0*)

South Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Regelbw b Hazare17      
PE Paliab Saeed Ahmed13      
Asghar Alib Saeed Ahmed0      
SW Sohonib Hazare51 1153-  
*DB Deodharb Mankad89 1886-  
AG Ram Singhnot out125      
B Franklbw b Mankad0      
EB Aibarac Adhikari b Phadkar46      
SG Shindec Gul Mohammad b Hazare5      
+DS Doctorb Phadkar0      
CR Rangacharib Phadkar8      
Total(all out, 125 overs)369
Fall of wickets:
1-16 (Palia), 2-16 (Asghar Ali), 3-62 (Rege), 4-133 (Sohoni), 5-246 (Deodhar), 6-246 (Frank), 7-341 (Aibara), 8-357 (Shinde), 9-357 (Doctor), 10-369 (Rangachari, 125 ov)
West Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Phadkar25   4893--
Saeed Ahmed26   5602--
Hazare25   6683--
Merchant5   2100--
Mankad23   5512--
Amir Elahi21   0760--

West Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KC Ibrahimst Doctor b Ram Singh56 1423-  
MH Mankadb Palia68 1785-  
*VM Merchantc Doctor b Ram Singh14      
VS Hazare hit wkt b Shinde45 853-  
RS Modic sub (MEZ Ghazali) b Shinde20 69--  
HR Adhikaric Asghar Ali b Sohoni28 45    
Gul Mohammadst Doctor b Palia2      
DG Phadkarc Deodhar b Shinde46 1184-  
Saeed Ahmedb Palia22      
Amir Elahib Palia0      
+DD Hindlekarnot out12      
Total(all out, 143.2 overs)334
Fall of wickets:
1-125 (Ibrahim), 2-145 (Mankad), 3-147 (Merchant), 4-201 (Modi), 5-215 (Hazare), 6-218 (Gul Mohammad), 7-243 (Adhikari), 8-285 (Saeed Ahmed), 9-291 (Amir Elahi), 10-334 (Phadkar, 143.2 ov)
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sohoni18   1491--
Palia40   19444--
Ram Singh22   3502--
Rangachari18   3480--

South Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Regeb Gul Mohammad26      
PE Paliac Mankad b Saeed Ahmed0      
EB Aibarac and b Gul Mohammad7      
SW Sohonic Hazare b Amir Elahi21      
AG Ram Singhc Merchant b Phadkar4      
Asghar Alist Hindlekar b Amir Elahi0      
+DS Doctorc Ibrahim b Amir Elahi33      
*DB Deodharc Hazare b Amir Elahi58 1205-  
B Frankb Amir Elahi4      
SG Shindec Merchant b Amir Elahi1      
CR Rangacharinot out7      
Total(all out, 69.2 overs)167
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Palia), 2-24 (Aibara), 3-33 (Rege), 4-48 (Ram Singh), 5-64 (Sohoni), 6-64 (Asghar Ali), 7-121 (Doctor), 8-129 (Frank), 9-131 (Shinde), 10-167 (Deodhar, 69.2 ov)
West Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Phadkar8   3131--
Saeed Ahmed3   051--
Hazare7   2180--
Gul Mohammad13   5152--
Mankad12   2290--
Amir Elahi26.22816--

West Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KC Ibrahimrun out16      
MH Mankadc Doctor b Rangachari10      
HR Adhikarinot out20      
Gul Mohammadnot out32      
*VM Merchantdid not bat      
VS Hazaredid not bat      
RS Modidid not bat      
DG Phadkardid not bat      
Saeed Ahmeddid not bat      
Amir Elahidid not bat      
+DD Hindlekardid not bat      
Total(2 wickets, 28 overs)92
Fall of wickets:
1-32 (Ibrahim), 2-32 (Mankad)
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rangachari12   2361--
Sohoni9   1300--
Shinde5   1110--
Palia2   110--

--> AG Ram Singh (1) 100 in 190 minutes with 11 fours
--> DS Doctor (2) equalled his previous highest score of 33 in first-class matches
--> Saeed Ahmed made his last appearance in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive