East Zone v North Zone
Zonal Quadrangular Tournament 1945/46
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 15th, 16th February 1946 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEast Zone won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorth Zone won by an innings and 73 runs
UmpiresDK Naik, JR Patel
Close of play day 1East Zone (2) 3/0 (Parthasarathi 1*, Sarwate 1*)

East Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SN Banerjeeb Amarnath2      
CT Sarwatec Amarnath b Fazal Mahmood5      
S Mushtaq Alib Amarnath13      
BB Nimbalkarb Amarnath0      
NM Boseb Amarnath1      
MM Jagdalec Abdul Hafeez b Inayat Khan24      
CS Nayuduc Irani b Fazal Mahmood0      
*CK Nayudulbw b Fazal Mahmood8      
NC Chatterjeeb Inayat Khan2      
+TV Parthasarathist Irani b Fazal Mahmood6      
NR Chowdhurynot out1      
Total(all out, 38.5 overs)65
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Banerjee), 2-22 (Mushtaq Ali), 3-22 (Sarwate), 4-22 (Nimbalkar), 5-27 (Bose), 6-34 (CS Nayudu), 7-50 (CK Nayudu), 8-58 (Chatterjee), 9-59 (Jagdale), 10-65 (Parthasarathi, 38.5 ov)
North Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Amarnath14   6204--
Fazal Mahmood15.54244--
Inayat Khan4   092--
Abdul Hafeez5   190--

North Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Nazar Mohammadc Bose b Jagdale31      
Mohammad Saeedlbw b CS Nayudu42      
Abdul Hafeezrun out (sub [PK Sen])99 113111  
G Kishenchandlbw b CS Nayudu5      
K Rai Singhrun out8      
Inayat Khanretired out100 12214-  
Fazal Mahmoodlbw b Sarwate12      
*Nawab of Pataudiretired out1      
Inderjit Barhokelbw b CS Nayudu6      
+JK Iranib Sarwate2      
L Amarnathnot out0      
Total(all out, 65.4 overs)330
Fall of wickets:
1-82 (Nazar Mohammad), 2-90 (Mohammad Saeed), 3-108 (Kishenchand), 4-140 (Rai Singh), 5-265 (Abdul Hafeez), 6-310 (Fazal Mahmood), 7-322 (Inayat Khan), 8-322 (Pataudi), 9-330 (Irani), 10-330 (Inderjit Barhoke, 65.4 ov)
East Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Banerjee12   1730--
Nimbalkar2   0110--
Chowdhury2   0100--
CS Nayudu22.411003--
Jagdale9   1451--
Sarwate14   1462--
CK Nayudu4   0210--

East Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+TV Parthasarathib Amarnath2      
CT Sarwatec Inayat Khan b Fazal Mahmood46      
NC Chatterjeeb Fazal Mahmood2      
S Mushtaq Alist Irani b Inderjit Barhoke107 164111  
BB Nimbalkarc Amarnath b Fazal Mahmood2      
NM Bosec Inderjit Barhoke b Inayat Khan2      
MM Jagdalec Amarnath b Fazal Mahmood9      
CS Nayudub Fazal Mahmood0      
*CK Nayuduc sub b Abdul Hafeez11      
SN Banerjeenot out2      
NR Chowdhuryrun out0      
Total(all out, 75.3 overs)192
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Parthasarathi), 2-9 (Chatterjee), 3-130 (Sarwate), 4-136 (Nimbalkar), 5-139 (Bose), 6-152 (Jagdale), 7-152 (CS Nayudu), 8-169 (CK Nayudu), 9-191 (Mushtaq Ali), 10-192 (Chowdhury, 75.3 ov)
North Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Amarnath15   4441--
Fazal Mahmood27   7595--
Abdul Hafeez9   291--
Inayat Khan18   6261--
Inderjit Barhoke6   0451--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> Abdul Hafeez (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> Inayat Khan (1) passed his previous highest score of 87 in first-class matches
--> Inayat Khan (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> Inayat Khan (1) 100 in 122 minutes with 14 fours
--> Inayat Khan (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 59
--> S Mushtaq Ali (2) 100 with 10 fours and 1 six
--> TV Parthasarathi made his last appearance in first-class matches

Pataudi declared North Zone's innings when Inayat Khan reached his hundred at 322/6 but when both teams had returned to the dressing rooms the umpires pointed out that under the Laws no team can decalre on the first day of a three-say game. North Zone had to return to the wicket but the not out batsmen chose to retire.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive