Surrey v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1939
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 5th, 7th, 8th August 1939 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresF Chester, E Robinson
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (1) 147/2 (Keeton 78*, Hardstaff 9*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonc Gover b Watts80     
CB Harrisb Gover34     
*GFH Heanec Gover b Parker13     
J Hardstaffnot out79     
GV Gunnnot out24     
J Knowlesdid not bat      
RJ Gilesdid not bat      
W Vocedid not bat      
+AB Wheatdid not bat      
HJ Butlerdid not bat      
A Jepsondid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 3 lb, 5 nb)18
Total(3 wickets, declared, 58 overs)248
Fall of wickets:
1-90, 2-136, 3-162
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gover17   1571--
Watts8   0411--
Brown15   1660--
Dickinson3   080--
Squires4   190--
Gregory3   0120--
Parker8   0371--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LB Fishlockb Butler13     
RJ Gregorynot out42     
EW Whitfieldlbw b Butler0     
HS Squiresb Voce35     
JF Parkerc and b Jepson10     
FR Brownc Jepson b Butler24     
PJ Dickinsonc Wheat b Butler0     
+GS Mobeynot out9     
*HM Garland-Wellsdid not bat      
EA Wattsdid not bat      
AR Goverdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(6 wickets, 39.7 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-19, 3-67, 4-89, 5-120, 6-120
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Voce17   2581--
Heane1   020--
Gunn6   0330--
Jepson3   191--

--> CB Harris (1) passed 12000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 5
--> JF Parker reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings
--> HJ Butler reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Surrey first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive