Hampshire v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1939
VenueUnited Services Ground, Portsmouth on 14th, 15th, 16th June 1939 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresF Chester, FJ Durston
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 300/3 (Heane 101*, Gunn 29*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (1) 206/4 (Creese 4*, MacKenzie 0*; 58 overs)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonc MacKenzie b Boyes77      
CB Harrisc Boyes b Heath43      
*GFH Heanec and b Hill138      
J Hardstaffc McCorkell b Steele37      
GV Gunnnot out100      
RJ Gilesc Creese b Boyes18      
W Vocec Hill b Steele1      
J Knowlesnot out14      
A Jepsondid not bat      
+AB Wheatdid not bat      
HJ Butlerdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 12 lb, 1 w)18
Total(6 wickets, declared, 107 overs)446
Fall of wickets:
1-95, 2-186, 3-251, 4-370, 5-418, 6-421
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Heath23   3631--
Steele34   11552--
Hill29   2981--
MacKenzie4   0260--
Boyes14   1572--
Creese3   0290--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NT McCorkellc Voce b Jepson25      
AG Holtc Voce b Butler10      
AE Pothecaryb Butler73      
J Arnoldlbw b Voce81      
WCL Creesenot out4      
PA MacKenzienot out0      
*GR Taylordid not bat      
JWJ Steeledid not bat      
GS Boyesdid not bat      
G Hilldid not bat      
GEM Heathdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)13
Total(4 wickets, 58 overs)206
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-70, 3-190, 4-205
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Voce14   2621--
Butler16   2572--
Harris1   010--
Jepson8   1171--
Giles12   1320--
Gunn7   2240--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> WW Keeton (1) passed 13000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 53
--> GFH Heane (1) passed his previous highest score of 126 in County Championship matches
--> GFH Heane (1) passed his previous highest score of 126 in first-class matches
--> GV Gunn (1) passed 9500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive