Europeans v Parsees
Bombay Pentangular Tournament 1938/39
VenueBrabourne Stadium, Bombay on 23rd, 24th, 25th November 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEuropeans won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEuropeans won by 19 runs
UmpiresJ Birtwistle, DK Naik
Close of play day 1Parsees (1) 172/6 (Khot 58*, Kalapesi 18*)
Close of play day 2Europeans (2) 319/9 (Philpot-Brookes 119*, Orton 3*)

Europeans first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CE Inderb Kalapesi2     
RC Summerhayesb Palsetia12     
RF Mossc Meherhomji b Havewala28     
GD Chetwodeb Havewala6     
AF Wensleylbw b Havewala23     
JE Tewb Palsetia0     
RFH Philpot-Brookesst Meherhomji b Jamshedji23     
PM Dowsonc Palsetia b Jamshedji22     
+KSH Wilsonb Havewala0     
*HL Murrayc Meherhomji b Jamshedji13     
CT Ortonnot out13     
Total(all out, 51.3 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-27, 3-42, 4-49, 5-50, 6-77, 7-105, 8-105, 9-119, 10-142 (51.3 ov)
Parsees bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kalapesi14   2201--
Palsetia14   6242--
Havewala14   1524--

Parsees first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+KR Meherhomjilbw b Dowson14     
FK Narimanb Dowson8     
NF Canteenwalac Tew b Wensley17     
SHM Colahlbw b Inder6     
DR Havewalac Dowson b Wensley0     
EB Aibarac Moss b Dowson51     
JB Khotb Murray92     
*BK Kalapesic Summerhayes b Murray34     
MS Patelc Moss b Murray10     
SM Palsetiab Murray0     
RJD Jamshedjinot out3     
Total(all out, 86.2 overs)235
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-22, 3-62, 4-70, 5-71, 6-110, 7-221, 8-226, 9-226, 10-235 (86.2 ov)
Europeans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dowson24   4743--
Wensley25   5562--
Inder14   4361--
Orton8   1340--

Europeans second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RC Summerhayesc Palsetia b Havewala0     
CE Inderc Meherhomji b Palsetia22     
RF Mossc Meherhomji b Palsetia15     
GD Chetwodelbw b Palsetia1     
AF Wensleyc Patel b Palsetia59     
JE Tewb Nariman71     
RFH Philpot-Brookesb Palsetia143     
PM Dowsonb Palsetia10     
+KSH Wilsonc Canteenwala b Havewala2     
*HL Murraylbw b Palsetia10     
CT Ortonnot out5     
Extras(2 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 75.2 overs)345
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-27, 3-33, 4-44, 5-144, 6-193, 7-242, 8-249, 9-261, 10-345 (75.2 ov)
Parsees bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Havewala29   41262--
Jamshedji9   0410--
Patel6   2180--
Khot4   1150--
Nariman2   0221--
Kalapesi1   070--

Parsees second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+KR Meherhomjic Summerhayes b Wensley66     
FK Narimanb Murray0     
NF Canteenwalac Philpot-Brookes b Wensley32     
EB Aibarac Wilson b Murray29     
SHM Colahlbw b Wensley37     
*BK Kalapesib Murray2     
DR Havewalarun out9     
JB Khotnot out34     
MS Patelc Dowson b Wensley1     
SM Palsetiac Orton b Murray4     
RJD Jamshedjic Inder b Dowson10     
Extras(7 b, 2 lb)9
Total(all out, 69.2 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-91, 3-107, 4-164, 5-174, 6-174, 7-185, 8-189, 9-201, 10-233 (69.2 ov)
Europeans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Murray24   7614--
Orton3   0140--
Inder7   1320--
Wensley25   3844--

--> RF Moss (1) passed his previous highest score of 26 in first-class matches
--> GD Chetwode made his debut in first-class matches
--> RFH Philpot-Brookes made his debut in first-class matches
--> KSH Wilson made his debut in first-class matches
--> JB Khot (1) passed his previous highest score of 47 in first-class matches
--> KR Meherhomji (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in first-class matches
--> PM Dowson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Parsees first innings (previous best was 1-41)
--> SM Palsetia achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Europeans second innings (previous best was 5-38)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive