Worcestershire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1938
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 6th, 8th, 9th August 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresD Hendren, FI Walden
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 82/3 (King 44*, Human 1*)
Close of play day 2No play

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryst Buller b Howorth10      
LD Thurstingc Buller b Perks3      
NF Armstrongc Howorth b Jackson22      
FT Prenticelbw b Jackson13      
GS Watsonc Jackson b Jenkins25      
M Tompkinb Jackson0      
*G Gearyst Buller b Jenkins7      
+GO Dawkesb Perks14      
HA Smithb Jackson33      
G Lesterb Perks2      
J Sperrynot out0      
Extras(3 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 62.1 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-23, 3-48, 4-53, 5-53, 6-80, 7-81, 8-120, 9-136, 10-136 (62.1 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Martin12   5140--
Howorth16   4351--
Jackson9   3174--
Jenkins9   0342--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
E Cooperc Armstrong b Sperry4      
BP Kingnot out44      
CH Palmerst Dawkes b Smith7      
HHIH Gibbonsc Geary b Sperry22      
*RHC Humannot out1      
R Howorthdid not bat      
+JS Bullerdid not bat      
RO Jenkinsdid not bat      
RTD Perksdid not bat      
SH Martindid not bat      
PF Jacksondid not bat      
Extras(4 b)4
Total(3 wickets, 29 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-35, 3-77
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith11   4161--
Sperry8   1292--
Lester9   1270--
Geary1   060--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> NF Armstrong (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 1
--> PF Jackson reached 650 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings

Play began at 1.00pm on the first day and finished at 6.45pm.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive