Leicestershire v Glamorgan
County Championship 1937
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 19th, 20th, 21st May 1937 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by an innings and 49 runs
PointsLeicestershire 0; Glamorgan 15
UmpiresJ Hardstaff, E Robinson
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 410/5 (Turnbull 81*, Brierley 8*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 52/2 (Armstrong 16*, Dempster 6*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AH Dysonc Dempster b Bowley126     
DE Daviesst Corrall b Astill139     
*MJL Turnbullc Berry b Astill135     
D Daviesc Armstrong b Bowley13     
RG Duckfieldlbw b Bowley1     
CC Smartc Berry b Bowley33     
+TL Brierleyrun out10     
EC Jonesnot out3     
JC Claydid not bat      
J Mercerdid not bat      
DW Hughesdid not bat      
Extras(8 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(7 wickets, declared, 162.3 overs)469
Fall of wickets:
1-274, 2-274, 3-298, 4-299, 5-370, 6-413, 7-469 (162.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith44   111150--
Geary38   3900--
Bowley48   81554--
Prentice4   0150--
Armstrong2   030--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryc D Davies b Smart24     
FT Prenticec Turnbull b Smart23     
NF Armstrongc Smart b Jones44     
*CS Dempsterb DE Davies35     
HC Grahamb Clay4     
H Rileyc D Davies b DE Davies0     
G Gearyc D Davies b DE Davies6     
WE Astillb Jones11     
HB Bowleyb DE Davies0     
HA Smithc Mercer b Jones8     
+P Corrallnot out0     
Extras(2 b, 7 lb)9
Total(all out, 81.3 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-62, 3-114, 4-119, 5-126, 6-140, 7-154, 8-155, 9-159, 10-164 (81.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mercer8   1150--
Hughes11   3160--
Smart11   1362--
Clay18   6301--
DE Davies18   6274--

Leicestershire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berrylbw b Clay22     
FT Prenticec Turnbull b Mercer6     
NF Armstrongc Brierley b Jones73     
*CS Dempsterc and b Mercer102     
HC Grahamrun out3     
H Rileylbw b Clay9     
G Gearyc Smart b DE Davies13     
WE Astillnot out7     
HB Bowleyc D Davies b DE Davies0     
HA Smithlbw b DE Davies1     
+P Corrallc Dyson b Jones1     
Extras(18 b, 1 lb)19
Total(all out, 114 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-33, 3-188, 4-216, 5-217, 6-241, 7-241, 8-241, 9-243, 10-256 (114 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mercer27   4532--
Hughes4   0180--
Jones27   8632--
Smart6   0120--
Clay23   4552--
DE Davies22   9313--
D Davies5   250--

--> MJL Turnbull (1) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 110
--> WE Astill (1) passed 18000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 11
--> JC Clay reached 800 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> DE Davies completed a hat-trick in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive