Derbyshire v Essex
County Championship 1936
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 30th May, 1st, 2nd June 1936 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsDerbyshire 3; Essex 5
UmpiresHW Lee, JA Newman
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 193/6 (Ashton 13*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Aldermanb Nichols26      
D Smithb Nichols5      
H Storerb Nichols0      
LF Townsendb Stephenson5      
TS Worthingtonnot out85      
E Carringtonc Ashton b Stephenson1      
+H Elliottlbw b Smith9      
*AW Richardsonlbw b Smith10      
AV Popeb Smith0      
TB Mitchellb Evans25      
WH Copsonb Smith1      
Extras(9 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)12
Total(all out, 51.2 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-21, 3-43, 4-43, 5-53, 6-79, 7-99, 8-101, 9-178, 10-179 (51.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols17   2663--
Stephenson15   6412--
Evans9   1281--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JR Sheffieldc Pope b Copson24      
RM Taylorlbw b Worthington14      
MS Nicholsc Smith b Mitchell76      
J O'Connorb Worthington1      
JA Cutmorec and b Mitchell45      
CT Ashtonnot out13      
*TN Pearcec Elliott b Mitchell6      
JWA Stephensondid not bat      
VJ Evansdid not bat      
+TH Wadedid not bat      
TPB Smithdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 9 lb, 1 w)14
Total(6 wickets, 65.5 overs)193
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-41, 3-47, 4-162, 5-175, 6-193 (65.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Copson16   5321--
Pope15   2400--
Worthington12   1312--
Townsend13   5240--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> LF Townsend (1) passed 15000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> TS Worthington (1) passed 11000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 7
--> TB Mitchell reached 1050 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Essex first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive