Leicestershire v Nottinghamshire
Other matches in England 1944
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 26th August 1944 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 40 runs
UmpiresJH King, AE Underwood
ScorersD Bradwell (Nottinghamshire), S Coe (Leicestershire)

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DE Davieslbw b Hodgkins10     
RR Oswaldc and b Walker13     
NF Armstrongc Walker b Bradley29     
RA Adcockb Walker20     
J Curtisb Hubble16     
SJ Kentrun out10     
SJ Symingtonst Wheat b Hubble1     
JM Josephsc Newsome b Bradley35     
*AT Sharplbw b Walker23     
HA Smithst Wheat b Bradley2     
J Sperrynot out0     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb)3
Total(all out, 60.1 overs)162
Fall of wickets:
1-22 (Davies), 2-27 (Oswald), 3-63 (Adcock), 4-85 (Armstrong), 5-89 (Curtis), 6-97 (Symington), 7-103 (Kent), 8-149 (Josephs), 9-154 (Smith), 10-162 (Sharp, 60.1 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hodgkins8   3161--
Marshall8   2300--
Hubble11   2372--
Bradley20   4553--

Nottinghamshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TJD Walkerb Smith21     
Whysalllbw b Smith16     
FW Stocksc Sperry b Josephs37     
WL Birkumshawlbw b Davies1     
EA Marshallc Adcock b Davies0     
HW Coxlbw b Smith1     
JH Newsomeb Smith0     
JB Hubblec and b Smith0     
JS Hodgkinsb Davies16     
J Bradleynot out14     
+AB Wheatb Sperry4     
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)12
Total(all out, 45.3 overs)122
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-55, 3-56, 4-56, 5-61, 6-61, 7-61, 8-80, 9-117, 10-122 (45.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith18   450521
Davies17   4333--
Josephs2   081--

Horace Cox, played for Nottinghamshire in this match as they were a player short, having also played for Leicestershire during this season. He played rugby for Leicester in 1923/24 and 1924/25 and then for Rugby.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive