Somerset v Durham
LV County Championship 2008 (Division 1)
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th September 2008 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSomerset 7 (Batting 1, Bowling 2); Durham 12 (Batting 5, Bowling 3)
UmpiresGI Burgess, G Sharp
ScorersB Hunt (Durham), GA Stickley (Somerset)
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Durham (1) 45/1 (Di Venuto 23*, Smith 21*; 18.4 overs)
Close of play day 3Durham (1) 265/3 (Di Venuto 131*, Benkenstein 14*; 95.3 overs)

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JL Langerb Thorp3142484- 
ME Trescothickc Thorp b SJ Harmison18346411 
Z de Bruynrun out (BW Harmison)7611117511- 
JC Hildrethb SJ Harmison19657821 
WJ Durstonb Wiseman1934354- 
ID Blackwellc Mustard b BW Harmison1029321- 
PD Tregob SJ Harmison23606821 
+CM Gazzardb Wiseman63236-- 
AC Thomasb SJ Harmison152-- 
MK Mundayc Wiseman b SJ Harmison9892- 
CM Willoughbynot out657-1 
Extras(6 lb)6
Total(all out, 288 minutes, 70.5 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-45 (Langer), 2-55 (Trescothick), 3-115 (Hildreth), 4-150 (Durston), 5-177 (Blackwell), 6-180 (de Bruyn), 7-198 (Gazzard), 8-199 (Thomas), 9-217 (Munday), 10-224 (Trego, 70.5 ov)
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
SJ Harmison17.51845--
Thorp15   4361--
Davies10   2180--
BW Harmison11   5311--
Benkenstein1   010--
Wiseman16   4482--

Durham first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Di Venutorun out (Munday)135290385161 
MD Stonemanc Langer b Willoughby198-- 
WR Smithb Thomas2474823- 
S Chanderpaulb Willoughby9317621392 
*DM Benkensteinnot out621131846- 
BW Harmisonc Hildreth b Thomas512171- 
+P Mustardc Langer b Thomas713121- 
PJ Wisemanc and b Munday52726561 
CD Thorpnot out107411 
M Daviesdid not bat      
SJ Harmisondid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 2 nb)11
Total(7 wickets, declared, 492 minutes, 127.3 overs)400
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Stoneman), 2-59 (Smith), 3-233 (Chanderpaul), 4-277 (Di Venuto), 5-290 (BW Harmison), 6-300 (Mustard), 7-386 (Wiseman)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willoughby39   12932--
Thomas26   5863--
Blackwell23   6840--
Durston17   0400--
de Bruyn7   0240-1
Trego7   1280--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JL Langernot out10911515519- 
ME Trescothickc Mustard b SJ Harmison615171- 
JC Hildrethc Stoneman b SJ Harmison4481907- 
WJ Durstonnot out1235421- 
Z de Bruyndid not bat      
ID Blackwelldid not bat      
+CM Gazzarddid not bat      
PD Tregodid not bat      
AC Thomasdid not bat      
MK Mundaydid not bat      
CM Willoughbydid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 2 lb)10
Total(2 wickets, 155 minutes, 41 overs)181
Fall of wickets:
1-21 (Trescothick), 2-136 (Hildreth)
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
SJ Harmison12   2642--
Thorp8   0280--
Wiseman11   2550--
Davies5   350--
Benkenstein1   100--
Chanderpaul4   0190--

--> MJ Di Venuto (1) 100 in 227 balls, 275 minutes with 10 fours and 1 six
--> S Chanderpaul (1) passed his previous highest score of 81 in County Championship matches
--> JL Langer (2) 100 in 101 balls, 140 minutes with 18 fours
--> JL Langer (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 96
--> JL Langer (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 96
--> SJ Harmison reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed JC Hildreth, his 2nd wicket in the Somerset first innings
--> CM Willoughby reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed S Chanderpaul, his 2nd wicket in the Durham first innings
--> SJ Harmison reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when he dismissed JC Hildreth, his 2nd wicket in the Somerset second innings

Source: Durham CCC scorebook with thanks to Brian Hunt
There was no play on the first day because of rain.
On the second day bad light stopped play from 5.22pm to 5.34pm and again at 5.40pm until the close
On the third day the start was delayed until 11.30am due to overnight rain and rain stopped play from 3.47pm to 4.30pm and again at 5.56pm until the close





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive