Essex v Yorkshire
County Championship 1930
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 17th, 19th, 20th May 1930 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossYorkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultYorkshire won by 132 runs
PointsEssex 0; Yorkshire 8
UmpiresG Beet, JW Day
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 19/0 (Cutmore 13*, Pope 6*)
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (2) 167/1 (Sutcliffe 85*, Leyland 38*)

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
P Holmesb TPB Smith2     
H Sutcliffec Sheffield b Nichols9     
E Oldroydnot out143     
M Leylandc Russell b Hipkin51     
*AT Barberlbw b O'Connor30     
A Mitchellb TPB Smith14     
E Robinsonrun out12     
+A Woodc Sheffield b O'Connor0     
W Rhodesst Sheffield b O'Connor12     
GG Macaulayc and b Hipkin5     
WE Bowesb Hipkin0     
Extras(7 b, 4 lb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 113 overs)290
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-15, 3-95, 4-164, 5-202, 6-242, 7-243, 8-266, 9-285, 10-290 (113 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols24   5561--
TPB Smith20   2722--
Daer17   1500--
Hipkin24   7383--
O'Connor24   4503--
Russell4   1120--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Cutmorelbw b Rhodes40     
DF Popec and b Leyland63     
J O'Connorb Leyland6     
CAG Russellrun out68     
MS Nicholsc Wood b Macaulay8     
*C Brayc Leyland b Robinson4     
GWO Smithb Bowes9     
AB Hipkinb Robinson1     
AG Daerb Robinson6     
+JR Sheffieldb Bowes15     
TPB Smithnot out4     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 119.3 overs)231
Fall of wickets:
1-65, 2-80, 3-155, 4-176, 5-192, 6-204, 7-206, 8-206, 9-227, 10-231 (119.3 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bowes32   11512--
Macaulay30   11461--
Rhodes22   7351--
Leyland15   3382--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
P Holmeslbw b O'Connor38     
H Sutcliffenot out108     
M Leylandc and b Hipkin46     
A Mitchellc and b TPB Smith1     
+A Woodnot out2     
E Oldroyddid not bat      
*AT Barberdid not bat      
E Robinsondid not bat      
W Rhodesdid not bat      
GG Macaulaydid not bat      
WE Bowesdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 7 lb)8
Total(3 wickets, declared, 55 overs)203
Fall of wickets:
1-87, 2-191, 3-197
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols13   0470--
TPB Smith16   4411--
Daer11   0510--
Hipkin1   051--
O'Connor13   0471--
Pope1   040--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Cutmorerun out17     
DF Popeb Bowes2     
J O'Connorc Sutcliffe b Macaulay19     
CAG Russellb Bowes0     
MS Nicholsc Wood b Macaulay15     
*C Brayb Robinson12     
GWO Smithb Robinson2     
AB Hipkinb Robinson0     
AG Daernot out34     
+JR Sheffieldlbw b Macaulay12     
TPB Smithlbw b Macaulay4     
Extras(9 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)13
Total(all out, 71.4 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-24, 3-24, 4-57, 5-62, 6-72, 7-?, 8-79, 9-120, 10-130 (71.4 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robinson19   4363--
Bowes15   5182--
Rhodes21   10340--
Leyland3   0110--

--> DF Pope (1) passed his previous highest score of 46 in County Championship matches
--> CAG Russell (1) passed 21000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 4
--> M Leyland (2) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 23
--> M Leyland (2) passed 12000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 7
--> JA Cutmore (2) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> GWO Smith made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> GWO Smith made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> AG Daer (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> AG Daer (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in County Championship matches
--> DF Pope made his debut for Essex in County Championship matches
--> J O'Connor reached 300 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Yorkshire first innings
--> E Robinson reached 700 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Essex first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive