Derbyshire v South Africans
South Africa in British Isles 1929
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 5th, 6th, 7th June 1929 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Africans won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresA Nash, H Thompson
Close of play day 1South Africans (1) 76/3 (Taylor 25*, Catterall 2*)
Close of play day 2South Africans (1) 163/8 (McMillan 10*, Vincent 4*)

South Africans first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IJ Siedlest Elliott b Mitchell20      
B Mitchellc Storer b Townsend11      
HW Taylorc Smith b Townsend37      
DPB Morkelb Townsend16      
RH Catterallst Elliott b Mitchell12      
+HB Cameronst Elliott b Mitchell0      
*HG Deanec Storer b Townsend47      
JAJ Christyc Townsend b Mitchell4      
Q McMillanc Townsend b Slater10      
CL Vincentnot out4      
AJ Bellrun out3      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(all out, 97.5 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-39, 3-67, 4-94, 5-94, 6-107, 7-115, 8-155, 9-163, 10-166 (97.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Townsend42   15624--
Mitchell21   6464--
Storer2   170--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Storerc Vincent b Mitchell35      
GM Leeretired hurt37      
J Bowdenb Vincent18      
*GR Jacksonc Morkel b McMillan27      
JM Hutchinsonc McMillan b Vincent7      
D Smithrun out46      
AG Slaterst Cameron b McMillan2      
LF Townsendnot out25      
AW Richardsonnot out3      
TB Mitchelldid not bat      
+H Elliottdid not bat      
Extras(8 b)8
Total(6 wickets, 78 overs)208
Fall of wickets:
1-71, 2-99, 3-125, 4-133, 5-142, 6-202
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morkel4   370--
Bell9   1190--
Vincent24   3612--
McMillan30   4822--
Mitchell11   0311--

--> LF Townsend reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the South Africans first innings
--> GM Lee retired hurt in the Derbyshire first innings having scored 37 (team score 88/1)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive