Essex v Glamorgan
County Championship 1928
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 25th, 26th, 27th July 1928 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsEssex 5; Glamorgan 3
UmpiresJW Day, AE Street
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 143/0 (Cutmore 57*, Waugh 73*)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 126/2 (Dyson 30*, Jones 36*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WE Bateslbw b Douglas10      
JT Bellc Raison b Waugh15      
AH Dysonc and b Douglas40      
+JM Jonesst Eastman b Douglas57      
MJL Turnbullc Hipkin b Raison27      
*T Arnottc Cutmore b Raison17      
D Daviesc Cutmore b Raison5      
JJ Hillsb Thompson16      
DE Daviesb Raison0      
E Bowenb Thompson2      
J Mercernot out9      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 80.4 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-29, 2-37, 3-113, 4-136, 5-155, 6-163, 7-188, 8-188, 9-194, 10-205 (80.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shorter11   5210--
Douglas18   6343--
Waugh11   2331--
O'Connor9   1300--
Raison19   5574--
Hipkin4   0110--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Cutmoreb Bates66      
HP Waughb Mercer128      
J O'Connorc Bell b Bates0      
AB Hipkinc Arnott b Mercer5      
M Raisonlbw b Bates0      
*JWHT Douglasb Bates14      
EC Thompsonc D Davies b Bates34      
LH Westst Jones b Bates30      
RN Shorternot out13      
GW Hockeyb Bates1      
+GF Eastmanst Jones b Bates0      
Extras(13 b, 6 lb, 2 nb)21
Total(all out, 126.2 overs)312
Fall of wickets:
1-161, 2-161, 3-168, 4-168, 5-198, 6-243, 7-282, 8-284, 9-310, 10-312 (126.2 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mercer44   121042--
Arnott32   5720--
DE Davies9   5120--
D Davies6   2100--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WE Bateslbw b Douglas43      
JT Bellb Douglas14      
AH Dysonc Waugh b O'Connor47      
+JM Jonesc Waugh b Douglas75      
MJL Turnbullrun out36      
D Daviesc Hipkin b Douglas3      
*T Arnottc O'Connor b Hipkin11      
DE Daviesb Douglas7      
E Bowenc Cutmore b Hipkin5      
J Mercernot out0      
JJ Hillsabsent hurt
Extras(5 b, 3 lb)8
Total(all out, 93.4 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-42, 2-57, 3-157, 4-214, 5-218, 6-233, 7-243, 8-249, 9-249 (93.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shorter8   2240--
Waugh9   2260--
O'Connor14   1321--
Raison12   2320--
Thompson12   2300--
Hipkin15   2322--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Cutmoreb Arnott11      
HP Waughb Mercer10      
J O'Connorc Turnbull b DE Davies12      
AB Hipkinc Jones b Arnott4      
M Raisonnot out27      
*JWHT Douglasc Jones b Mercer3      
EC Thompsonnot out3      
LH Westdid not bat      
RN Shorterdid not bat      
GW Hockeydid not bat      
+GF Eastmandid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, 37.2 overs)70
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-21, 3-28, 4-43, 5-51
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mercer19   7292--
Arnott11   2262--
DE Davies4   171--

--> WE Bates (1) passed 10000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 4
--> JM Jones (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 49
--> HP Waugh (1) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> HP Waugh (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> HP Waugh (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> JM Jones (2) passed his previous highest score of 70 in County Championship matches
--> JM Jones (2) passed his previous highest score of 70 in first-class matches
--> WE Bates achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Essex first innings (previous best was 5-64)
--> WE Bates achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Essex first innings (previous best was 5-64)
--> J O'Connor reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Glamorgan second innings
--> J Mercer reached 550 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Essex second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive