Lancashire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1928
VenueAigburth, Liverpool on 20th, 21st, 22nd June 1928 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLancashire 5; Leicestershire 3
UmpiresWA Buswell, JW Day
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 75/1 (Hallows 30*, GE Tyldesley 42*)
Close of play day 2No play

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*EW Dawsonc GE Tyldesley b McDonald42      
AW Shipmanc Taylor b Preston3      
NF Armstrongc Duckworth b Preston0      
GL Berryb McDonald8      
G Gearyc RK Tyldesley b McDonald54      
WE Astillc Iddon b McDonald17      
DS Oscroftb McDonald5      
+TE Sidwellrun out17      
HC Snaryb McDonald0      
HA Smithlbw b Watson34      
A Skeldingnot out11      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 85 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-9, 3-28, 4-92, 5-118, 6-132, 7-133, 8-133, 9-178, 10-198 (85 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McDonald25   6806--
Preston17   3422--
Iddon16   9150--
RK Tyldesley16   7300--
Watson11   2241--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FB Watsonb Skelding0      
C Hallowsc Armstrong b Astill65      
GE Tyldesleyb Smith94      
JWH Makepeacenot out48      
J Iddonc Snary b Skelding5      
ML Taylorlbw b Astill5      
+G Duckworthb Snary8      
EA McDonaldc Berry b Snary7      
RK Tyldesleydid not bat      
*L Greendid not bat      
S Prestondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb)5
Total(7 wickets, 123.5 overs)237
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-158, 3-164, 4-192, 5-204, 6-217, 7-237 (123.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Skelding23   8492--
Astill40   13842--
Smith17   7351--
Armstrong7   2130--

--> DS Oscroft made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> C Hallows (1) passed 16500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 35
--> S Preston made his debut in County Championship matches
--> S Preston made his debut in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive