Hampshire v Essex
County Championship 1925
VenueUnited Services Ground, Portsmouth on 22nd, 24th, 25th August 1925 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresF Parris, WAJ West
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2No play

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FH Gillinghamc and b Kennedy11      
JR Freemanlbw b Kennedy19      
J O'Connorc Kennedy b Boyes8      
CAG Russellst Livsey b Boyes0      
CT Ashtonc McBride b Kennedy26      
LC Eastmanst Livsey b Boyes4      
AB Hipkinc Livsey b Newman41      
JA Cutmorelbw b Kennedy1      
*+FW Gilligannot out22      
MS Nicholsb Newman5      
AG Daerb Kennedy3      
Extras(2 b, 3 lb)5
Total(all out, 62.3 overs)145
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-36, 3-36, 4-42, 5-71, 6-73, 7-94, 8-122, 9-132, 10-145 (62.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Newman10   3332--
Boyes22   10463--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*LH Tennysonc Eastman b Nichols0      
JA Newmanc Ashton b Eastman7      
R Airdc Ashton b Russell30      
CP Meadb Russell28      
HLV Dayc Cutmore b Eastman1      
AS Kennedylbw b Russell1      
HD Hakelbw b Hipkin0      
HAW Bowellnot out16      
WN McBridec Russell b Hipkin1      
+WH Livseyc O'Connor b Hipkin6      
GS Boyesnot out2      
Extras(10 b)10
Total(9 wickets, 52 overs)102
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-18, 3-46, 4-57, 5-62, 6-67, 7-68, 8-70, 9-74
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols5   0141--
Eastman14   6272--
Russell16   11213--
Hipkin13   5173--
Ashton2   180--
O'Connor2   050--

--> J O'Connor (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 8
--> AB Hipkin (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> AG Daer made his debut in first-class matches
--> AG Daer made his debut in County Championship matches
--> HD Hake made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> HD Hake made his last appearance in County Championship matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive