Essex v Hampshire
County Championship 1922
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 12th, 13th, 14th July 1922 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresJ Blake, HR Butt
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 292/7 (Mead 141*, Shirley 28*)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 165/4 (Douglas 20*, Morris 24*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HAW Bowellc Russell b Douglas13     
AS Kennedyrun out25     
R Airdb Dixon16     
CP Meadnot out179 33013- 
*LH Tennysonc Treglown b Dixon6     
G Brownc O'Connor b Douglas2     
JA Newmanlbw b Russell32     
CP Bruttonc Franklin b Dixon9     
WRD Shirleyb Douglas32     
+WH Livseylbw b Douglas0     
GS Boyesb Eastman9     
Extras(14 b, 7 lb)21
Total(all out, 127.2 overs)344
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-41, 3-76, 4-102, 5-113, 6-178, 7-200, 8-299, 9-299, 10-344 (127.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Douglas36   7974--
Dixon39   12773--
Russell17   5371--
Franklin6   1140--
Puddefoot5   0140--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CAG Russellb Boyes52     
CJH Treglownb Boyes14     
+JR Freemanb Newman27     
PA Perrinlbw b Boyes11     
*JWHT Douglasnot out20     
HM Morrisnot out24     
JG Dixondid not bat      
LC Eastmandid not bat      
HWF Franklindid not bat      
SC Puddefootdid not bat      
J O'Connordid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 7 lb)17
Total(4 wickets, 65 overs)165
Fall of wickets:
1-48, 2-89, 3-101, 4-123
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kennedy23   7430--
Newman19   8561--
Boyes22   9453--
Tennyson1   040--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> CP Mead (1) passed 25000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 33
--> JA Newman (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> CAG Russell (1) passed 12000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> JR Freeman (1) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 18
--> JWHT Douglas reached 1450 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Hampshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive