Sri Lanka name their 30 men probables
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:CEB Rice, KC Sangakkara, ST Jayasuriya
Event:ICC World Twenty20 2009

DateLine: 5th April 2009


The Sri Lankan selectors have named their 30 member squad for the T20 World Cup 2009 in England. Kumar Sangakkara will lead the side while Muttiah Muralitharan will be his deputy. The list will be pruned to 15.


Sanath Jayasuriya is among the 30 probables in the Sri Lankan squad for the Twenty20 World Cup in June in England. Jayasuriya, who will be touching 40 by the time the tournament ends. At the age of 38 in the 2007 World Cup, Jayasuriya scored 467 runs. He retired from the longer version of the game during the first Test against England in Kandy in 2007-08. In January 2009, during the first ODI against India, he became the second player to cross 13,000 ODI runs, and at 39 years and 212 days, became the oldest man to score an ODI century. The 35-year-old Chaminda Vaas is also among the probables and is likely to spearhead the bowling attack.


Probables : Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan (vice captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Kapugedera, Jehan Mubarak, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Chaminda Vaas, Ajantha Mendis, Kaushal Weeraratne, Upul Tharanga, Isuru Udana, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Chintaka Jayasinghe, Nuwan Zoysa, Gihan Rupasinghe, Thilina Kandamby, Malinga Bandara, Dilhara Fernando, Indika de Saram, Thisara Perera, Gayan Wijekoon, Milinda Siriwardene, Lahiru Thirimanne.



We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive