Preview: New Zealand will be looking to make amends
by Asher Wilson

Event:New Zealand in Sri Lanka 2012/13

DateLine: 5th November 2012


Sri Lanka v New Zealand
3rd ODI 2012
Match Preview


New Zealand will be looking to make amends for Sunday's 14 run loss to Sri Lanka when the sides meet again in Pallekele on Tuesday. Just like the match on the weekend, game three in the five match series has been moved to the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium with the Premadasa Stadium under water following weeks of monsoon rain.


As always, Sri Lanka was heavily reliant on its big name players in game two with Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene top scoring. The latter shepherded his side to victory with 43* in what could have been a tricky Duckworth/Lewis chase and his composure in the middle order is very important alongside some less experienced players. The 35 year-old is averaging 73.2 from his past eight matches against the Black Caps and will be determined to continue his good form.


The overall bowling performance of Sri Lankan bowlers will again be tested during the 3rd ODI. Malinga is again expected to spearhead the bowling charge with his exceptional variety during his spells of fast and furious attack mixed with the extra capabilities of Kulasekara, Mathews, Perera, Herath and Mendis.


Brendon McCullum could return for the Black Caps after sitting out the previous match with a stiff back and would be a welcome addition to the top order. Tom Latham, who opened the batting in his absence, looked out of his depth against the new ball pairing of Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekara and looks the man most likely to make way. Skipper Ross Taylorís clean hitting has been a vital part of his sideís success in limited overs matches lately and he will again pose the most problems for the opposition attack having proven his form with 72 from just 62 balls on Sunday. Taylor is expected to be passed fit for the third ODI following a stomach bug attack during the last ODI along with Andrew Ellis. Both players have received dehydration treatment at a local hospital. Ellis on the other hand is expected to miss the next ODI as he is still feeling the effects of the worm.


The top order from the Kiwis did well after a slow start in the 2nd ODI but would certainly look to improve on the flaws they experienced during their innings if they are to win and level the series in the next ODI on Tuesday. The batting lineup will again be tested during the 3rd ODI and is expected to perform well after going through what they have been missing during the 2nd ODI.


The bowlers were also spot on as they did not pave a way for Sri Lanka top notches to open up from the beginning instead keeping them under controlled economy rate and taking the wickets until the weather proved to be the judge and allowing the Sri Lankan's to win under D/L method after they completed more than 20 overs of play which was constitutional to declare any results. Mills and Boult will again look to be dangerious with the swing and pace they have along with the healthy support of Southee, Franklin, McCullum and Nicol will help them SL's batsmen quiet.


Following their win two days ago, Sri Lanka has now won eight of the past nine completed ODI matches against New Zealand but has been successful in just two of the last six matches against all teams. The hostís record in Pallekele isnít great either, having won just two of the past five ODIís at the ground.




Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Shaminda Eranga, Upul Tharanga, Rangana Herath, Akila Dananjaya, Tharindu Kaushal.


New Zealand: Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, BJ Watling, James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Tom Latham, Nathan McCullum, Andrew Ellis, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ronnie Hira, Adam Milne.

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2012 Pakistan Cricket Website)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive