Pakistan announce T20, ODI squads for England tour
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:Younis Khan
Event:Pakistan in England 2010

DateLine: 26th August 2010


The Pakistan selectors once again cold-shouldered former Pakistani captain Younus Khan for the limited over matches series against England despite lifting a ban this year on him playing for his country.


Mohsin Khan, chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board's selection committee, said Younus's name had not been cleared by the PCB despite an indefinite ban on him being overturned by an appellate tribunal in June.


Younus, 32, has not been part of the Pakistan team since February after being sent to Australia for the one-day series. He had withdrawn from the team for the preceding tour of New Zealand and Tests against Australia, citing personal reasons.


Soon after the Australia tour Younus and six other players were either banned or fined for indiscipline and infighting. A one-man appellate tribunal lifted the ban on Younus but the PCB said he still had to resolve some legal matters before he could be cleared to play for Pakistan.


Pakistan are currently playing a four-match Test series against England, with the final Test starting at Lord's from Thursday.


After the Tests, they play back-to-back Twenty20 matches at Cardiff, on September 5 and 7 before their five-match one-day series starts at Chester-le-Street three days later.


Among the Test squad, Shoaib Malik, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Umar Amin and Tanveer Ahmed will return to Pakistan and their places will be taken by Shahzaib Hasan, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Akhtar and Fawad Alam.


All-rounder Shahid Afridi retained captaincy after he resigned from Test cricket following Pakistan's defeat against Australia in the Lord's Test last month.


Squad : Shahid Afridi (capt), Salman Butt, Shahzaib Hasan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Yousuf, Azhar Ali, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Fawad Alam, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar and Wahab Riaz.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive