Surrey v Hampshire
County Championship 1919
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 13th, 14th June 1919 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 6 wickets
PointsSurrey 0; Hampshire 1
UmpiresJ Moss, A White
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 193/4 (Mead 70*, Brown 5*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsc Tennyson b Kennedy15 45   
A Sandhamb Kennedy67 1058- 
A Ducatb Evans30 40   
HS Harrisonb Evans79 1506- 
EG Hayesc and b Kennedy7     
WJ Abelc Maartensz b Evans24     
*CTA Wilkinsonb Kennedy17     
TE Abelc Brown b Mead49 40   
JW Hitchb Kennedy19  21 
+H Strudwickc Black b Evans13     
T Rushbynot out1     
Extras(12 b, 5 lb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 240 minutes, 85.4 overs)339
Fall of wickets:
1-43 (Hobbs), 2-96 (Ducat), 3-126 (Sandham), 4-134 (Hayes), 5-171 (WJ Abel), 6-198 (Wilkinson), 7-283 (TE Abel), 8-308 (Hitch), 9-336 (Harrison), 10-339 (Strudwick, 85.4 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kennedy40   31425--
Tennyson8   03401-
Black12   1400--
Mead4   0311--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BGV Melleb Hitch22     
*LH Tennysonc Harrison b Rushby61 908- 
RAD Brooksc Strudwick b Hitch3     
CP Meadc Strudwick b Hitch72 14011- 
GC Harrisonb TE Abel20     
G Brownb Hitch38 75   
AE Evansb TE Abel11     
AS Kennedyc Ducat b WJ Abel48 90   
+SGA Maartenszc Hitch b WJ Abel25 40   
JAG Kennardnot out13     
LG Blackb Rushby9     
Extras(12 b, 3 lb)15
Total(all out, 315 minutes, 100.3 overs)337
Fall of wickets:
1-46 (Melle), 2-56 (Brooks), 3-113 (Tennyson), 4-180 (Harrison), 5-202 (Mead), 6-219 (Evans), 7-256 (Brown), 8-314, 9-315, 10-337 (100.3 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hitch36   6954--
WJ Abel18   1912--
TE Abel14   3412--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsc Brown b Kennedy38 70   
A Sandhamc Mead b Kennedy8     
A Ducatc Mead b Kennedy12     
HS Harrisonc and b Evans2     
EG Hayeslbw b Evans32     
WJ Abelc Maartensz b Evans12     
*CTA Wilkinsonb Kennedy1     
TE Abelc Brown b Kennedy3     
JW Hitchc Brooks b Kennedy0     
+H Strudwicklbw b Kennedy12     
T Rushbynot out1     
Extras(4 b, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 120 minutes, 34.5 overs)126
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Sandham), 2-46 (Ducat), 3-53 (Harrison), 4-77 (Hobbs), 5-109, 6-109, 7-110, 8-110, 9-120, 10-126 (34.5 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tennyson6   02401-
Evans11   1503--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BGV Mellec WJ Abel b Hitch40 60   
*LH Tennysonc Hayes b Rushby3     
RAD Brooksst Strudwick b Rushby13     
CP Meadnot out25     
GC Harrisonb Rushby11     
G Brownnot out37 456- 
AE Evansdid not bat      
AS Kennedydid not bat      
+SGA Maartenszdid not bat      
JAG Kennarddid not bat      
LG Blackdid not bat      
Total(4 wickets, 115 minutes, 37.4 overs)129
Fall of wickets:
1-14 (Tennyson), 2-40 (Brooks), 3-64 (Melle), 4-75 (Harrison)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hitch13   1601--
WJ Abel1   080--
TE Abel6   1260--

--> RAD Brooks made his debut in County Championship matches
--> AE Evans made his debut in County Championship matches
--> JAG Kennard made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> JAG Kennard made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> JB Hobbs (1) passed 17000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 10
--> HS Harrison (1) passed 3500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 16
--> TE Abel (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in County Championship matches
--> TE Abel (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in First-Class matches
--> AS Kennedy (1) passed 2000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 42
--> G Brown (2) passed 6000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> AE Evans achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches when he dismissed HS Harrison in the Surrey first innings (previous best was 2-41)
--> JW Hitch reached 700 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed BGV Melle, his 1st wicket in the Hampshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive