Victoria v New South Wales
First-Class matches in Australia 1918/19
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 26th, 27th, 28th, 30th December 1918 (timeless match)
Balls per over8
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to field
ResultVictoria won by 216 runs
UmpiresWJR Bowes, RM Crockett
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 250/7 (Sewart 3*, Ellis 0*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 123 all out
Close of play day 3New South Wales (2) 31/0 (Bardsley 14*, Dwyer 9*)

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FA Baringb Noble131 20611- 
C Kiernanc Diamond b Norman4     
J Ryderc Mailey b Norman3     
ER Maynec Kippax b Noble15     
VS Ransfordb Noble4     
*WW Armstrongrun out (Kippax)68     
WI Sewartrun out (Kippax->Ratcliffe)12     
PR le Couteurc and b Norman1     
+JL Ellislbw b Noble0     
EA McDonaldnot out4     
H Ironmongerc Diamond b Noble0     
Extras(12 b, 8 lb, 4 nb)24
Total(all out, 246 minutes, 61.6 overs)266
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-34, 3-65, 4-77, 5-243, 6-245, 7-250, 8-262, 9-266, 10-266 (61.6 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Norman18   4533-4
Hendry12   1570--
Mailey8   0420--
Kippax5   0300--
Andrews1   020--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Bardsleylbw b Baring18     
EA Dwyerc Ellis b McDonald11     
TJE Andrewsc Ellis b Ironmonger3     
+AT Ratcliffeb Ironmonger0     
*MA Noblec and b Ryder16     
HRC Normanlbw b Ironmonger0     
A Diamondc le Couteur b Ironmonger0     
AF Kippaxc Ellis b Ryder20     
WL Berryc Ironmonger b Ryder26     
HSTL Hendryrun out (Kiernan)15     
AA Maileynot out5     
Extras(7 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 148 minutes, 35.4 overs)123
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-33, 3-33, 4-41, 5-41, 6-41, 7-70, 8-75, 9-113, 10-123 (35.4 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McDonald8   0221-1
Baring2   081--
Ryder8   2323--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FA Baringc Kippax b Hendry11     
ER Maynec Andrews b Noble105 2084- 
VS Ransfordb Norman10     
J Ryderc Ratcliffe b Norman74     
WI Sewartb Noble2     
C Kiernanb Andrews44     
PR le Couteurrun out (Norman->Noble->Ratcliffe)4     
*WW Armstrongc Mailey b Norman17     
+JL Ellisnot out10     
EA McDonaldc Diamond b Andrews2     
H Ironmongerb Andrews8     
Extras(5 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)12
Total(all out, 281 minutes, 76 overs)299
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-36, 3-182, 4-189, 5-229, 6-237, 7-263, 8-289, 9-291, 10-299 (76 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendry16   0541--
Mailey20   1910--
Norman18   1843-2
Andrews6   0353--
Noble16   3232--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Bardsleyst Ellis b Ironmonger23     
EA Dwyerb McDonald9     
A Diamondb McDonald11     
+AT Ratcliffec Ellis b McDonald1     
*MA Noblec and b le Couteur52     
TJE Andrewsc Baring b Armstrong20     
AF Kippaxb McDonald14     
WL Berryc Sewart b le Couteur17     
HSTL Hendrylbw b Armstrong40     
HRC Normanc Ransford b Armstrong13     
AA Maileynot out9     
Extras(14 b, 2 lb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 251 minutes, 66.1 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-50, 3-53, 4-56, 5-105, 6-140, 7-146, 8-167, 9-199, 10-226 (66.1 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McDonald21   5474--
Ironmonger11   0431--
Ryder8   03101-
le Couteur15   2592--

--> JL Ellis made his debut in first-class matches
--> EA Dwyer made his debut in first-class matches
--> HRC Norman made his debut in first-class matches
--> AF Kippax made his debut in first-class matches
--> WL Berry made his debut in first-class matches
--> HSTL Hendry made his debut in first-class matches
--> A Diamond made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> FA Baring (1) passed his previous highest score of 122 in first-class matches
--> PR le Couteur made his debut for Victoria in first-class matches
--> ER Mayne made his debut for Victoria in first-class matches
--> PR le Couteur made his debut in Australia in first-class matches

12th Men: JL Keating (Vic) and EW Adams (NSW)
Crowds: 6200, 7738, 7631, 4000. Total: About 25,500. Receipts: 1277 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive