Yorkshire v Lancashire
County Championship 1909
VenuePark Avenue Cricket Ground, Bradford on 2nd, 3rd, 4th August 1909 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossYorkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultYorkshire won by 100 runs
PointsYorkshire 1; Lancashire -1
UmpiresAJ Atfield, FG Roberts
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 111/4 (Hirst 4*, Rothery 10*)
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (2) 98/5 (Rothery 1*, Bates 2*)

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Rhodesc MacLeod b Huddleston24     
BB Wilsonc Spooner b Brearley47     
D Dentonb Brearley24     
WH Wilkinsonrun out1     
GH Hirstc Makepeace b Brearley18     
JW Rotheryc MacLeod b Brearley17     
CH Hardistyc Huddleston b Heap9     
WE Batesc Huddleston b Heap10     
JT Newsteadc Spooner b Heap2     
S Haighnot out0     
*+D Hunterc Worsley b Heap2     
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb)5
Total(all out, 66.2 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-88, 3-90, 4-100, 5-134, 6-136, 7-153, 8-157, 9-157, 10-159 (66.2 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brearley21   5654-2
Huddleston26   11431--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RH Spoonerc and b Rhodes47     
A Hartleyc Rothery b Rhodes1     
JT Tyldesleyc Hunter b Haigh15     
JS Sharpst Hunter b Rhodes1     
JWH Makepeaceb Rhodes0     
*AH Hornbyc Haigh b Rhodes51     
JS Heapc Hirst b Haigh1     
KG MacLeodb Haigh2     
W Huddlestonb Rhodes1     
W Brearleyc Haigh b Rhodes0     
+W Worsleynot out0     
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 33.4 overs)120
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-55, 3-63, 4-63, 5-66, 6-79, 7-91, 8-96, 9-96, 10-120 (33.4 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hirst5   1140--
Haigh12   2373--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Rhodesc MacLeod b Heap25     
BB Wilsonc Huddleston b Heap17     
D Dentonb Brearley37     
WH Wilkinsonlbw b Brearley8     
GH Hirstb Heap5     
JW Rotherylbw b Heap13     
CH Hardistyc Huddleston b Heap0     
WE Bateslbw b Huddleston16     
JT Newsteadst Worsley b Heap10     
S Haighnot out5     
*+D Hunterlbw b Heap0     
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)10
Total(all out, 62.3 overs)146
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-56, 3-86, 4-91, 5-94, 6-125, 7-129, 8-135, 9-146, 10-146 (62.3 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brearley14   4262-2
Huddleston20   4581--
MacLeod3   230--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RH Spoonerb Haigh30     
A Hartleyb Rhodes2     
JT Tyldesleyc Wilson b Newstead8     
JS Sharplbw b Haigh7     
JWH Makepeacec Bates b Rhodes1     
*AH Hornbynot out12     
JS Heapc and b Rhodes0     
KG MacLeodc Newstead b Rhodes0     
W Huddlestonb Haigh7     
W Brearleyc Haigh b Rhodes9     
+W Worsleyc Wilson b Rhodes8     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 34 overs)85
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-24, 3-47, 4-48, 5-54, 6-58, 7-58, 8-67, 9-76, 10-85 (34 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Newstead7   1191--
Rhodes16   4406--
Haigh11   1253--

--> CH Hardisty made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> CH Hardisty made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> W Huddleston (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 1
--> BB Wilson (2) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> RH Spooner (2) passed 8000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 18
--> W Brearley reached 700 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Yorkshire first innings
--> W Rhodes reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 6th wicket in the Lancashire first innings
--> JS Heap achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Yorkshire second innings (previous best was 6-71)
--> JS Heap achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Yorkshire second innings (previous best was 6-71)
--> S Haigh reached 1250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Lancashire second innings
--> GH Hirst retired hurt in the Yorkshire second innings having scored 2 - he returned when the score was 129/7





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive