North Western Province v Western Province South
Singer President's Trophy 1992
VenueWelagedara Stadium, Kurunegala on 28th, 29th, 30th, 31st May 1992 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorth Western Province won the toss and decided to field
ResultWestern Province South won by 7 wickets
PointsNorth Western Province 1.5 (Batting 0.5, Bowling 1); Western Province South 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 2)
UmpiresMM Mendis, TM Samarasinghe
Close of play day 1Western Province South (1) 326/8 (A Ranatunga 119*)
Close of play day 2North Western Province (2) 15/0 (Munasinghe ?*, Gunawardene ?*)
Close of play day 3

Western Province South first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AADS Pererac Gunawardene b Ekanayake73     
MC Mendisc Gunasekera b Amunugama0     
AP Gurusinhac Liyanage b Bandaranayake4     
*A Ranatungac Liyanage b Ekanayake126     
MS Atapattulbw b Ekanayake24     
S Ranatungac Gunawardene b Bandaranayake0     
+RS Kaluwitharanac Munasinghe b Ekanayake15     
N Ranatungab Bandaranayake9     
WMCN Fernandoc Gunasekera b Amunugama52     
AMN Munasinghec Bandaranayake b Ekanayake27     
GP Wickramasinghenot out1     
Extras(2 b, 10 lb, 5 nb, 4 w)21
Total(all out, 99.4 overs)352
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-37, 3-143, 4-182, 5-186, 6-209, 7-211, 8-305, 9-350, 10-352 (99.4 ov)
North Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Amunugama18   4552--
Upashantha15   2500--
Bandaranayake30   21073--
Madurasinghe7   0300--

North Western Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
N Munasinghec Fernando b Perera38     
SSW Gunawardenec Kaluwitharana b Munasinghe16     
RJ Jaymonc Kaluwitharana b Gurusinha11     
PMP Polonowitab Wickramasinghe16     
MP Liyanagerun out13     
KEA Upashanthalbw b Perera5     
+JM Gunasekerac N Ranatunga b S Ranatunga0     
*MAWR Madurasinghec and b Perera1     
AW Ekanayakenot out4     
ARRAPWRRKB Amunugamac Wickramasinghe b S Ranatunga0     
AH Bandaranayakec Gurusinha b S Ranatunga1     
Extras(4 lb, 8 nb, 2 w)14
Total(all out, 72.4 overs)119
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-64, 3-82, 4-103, 5-112, 6-112, 7-113, 8-114, 9-117, 10-119 (72.4 ov)
Western Province South bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wickramasinghe12   7121--
N Ranatunga11   3220--
Fernando8   2130--
Munasinghe9   291--
Perera14   6243--
S Ranatunga14.44243--
Gurusinha4   311--

North Western Province second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
N Munasinghec sub (RPAH Wickramaratne) b Wickramasinghe11     
SSW Gunawardenec Kaluwitharana b S Ranatunga43     
RJ Jaymonlbw b S Ranatunga62     
PMP Polonowitac sub (AAW Gunawardene) b Perera0     
MP Liyanagec Kaluwitharana b Gurusinha30     
KEA Upashanthab Atapattu23     
AH Bandaranayakec Wickramasinghe b Perera10     
*MAWR Madurasinghec Kaluwitharana b Perera5     
+JM Gunasekeranot out14     
AW Ekanayakec Perera b Atapattu23     
ARRAPWRRKB Amunugamac Wickramasinghe b Atapattu1     
Extras(5 b, 8 lb, 8 nb, 3 w)24
Total(all out, 86.1 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-126, 3-131, 4-131, 5-174, 6-174, 7-203, 8-203, 9-245, 10-246 (86.1 ov)
Western Province South bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wickramasinghe8   4131--
N Ranatunga3   1110--
Fernando4   140--
Munasinghe5   3150--
Perera27   6733--
S Ranatunga23   4632--
Gurusinha8   1161--

Western Province South second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AADS Pereranot out10     
MC Mendisc Gunasekera b Amunugama0     
AMN Munasinghec Polonowita b Amunugama1     
+RS Kaluwitharanalbw b Ekanayake2     
MS Atapattunot out1     
AP Gurusinhadid not bat      
*A Ranatungadid not bat      
S Ranatungadid not bat      
N Ranatungadid not bat      
WMCN Fernandodid not bat      
GP Wickramasinghedid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, 4.4 overs)14
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-9, 3-12
North Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Amunugama2   052--
Upashantha1   040--
Ekanayake1   031--

--> AADS Perera made his debut in First-Class matches
--> PMP Polonowita made his debut in First-Class matches
--> MP Liyanage made his debut in First-Class matches
--> AMN Munasinghe (1) passed his previous highest score of 24 in First-Class matches
--> N Munasinghe (1) passed his previous highest score of 32 in First-Class matches
--> SSW Gunawardene (2) passed his previous highest score of 32 in First-Class matches
--> AH Bandaranayake achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Western Province South first innings (previous best was 2-30)
--> ARRAPWRRKB Amunugama reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Western Province South second innings

Another version of the Western Province South second innings bowling shows Upashantha conceding 3 runs and Ekanayake 4 runs.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive