Northern Transvaal v Orange Free State
Castle Currie Cup 1988/89
VenueCenturion Park, Verwoerdburg on 27th, 28th January 1989 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthern Transvaal won the toss and decided to field
ResultNorthern Transvaal won by 7 wickets
PointsNorthern Transvaal 24 (Batting 4, Bowling 5); Orange Free State 7 (Batting 2, Bowling 5)
UmpiresRE Koertzen, CJ Mitchley
Close of play day 1Northern Transvaal (1) 139/7 (Rindel 37*, de Villiers 0*; 52 overs)
Man of the MatchPS de Villiers

Orange Free State first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PJR Steync Rindel b Bosch2132342- 
WJ Cronjeb de Villiers1237502- 
*JJ Strydomc Grobler b de Villiers62432-- 
AA Metcalferun out3071835- 
GC Victorb Grobler15172321 
LJ Wilkinsonc Ferreira b de Villiers3757885- 
CJ van Heerdenc Day b de Villiers1033381- 
+RJ Eastc Day b de Villiers712271- 
CJPG van Zylc de Villiers b Bosch585-- 
GJ Parsonsc Morris b Bosch1108-- 
AA Donaldnot out4541- 
Extras(2 lb, 9 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 200 minutes, 48 overs)160
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Steyn), 2-40 (Cronje), 3-54 (Strydom), 4-74 (Victor), 5-115 (Metcalfe), 6-142 (van Heerden), 7-149 (Wilkinson), 8-154 (van Zyl), 9-156 (Parsons), 10-160 (East, 48 ov)
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
de Villiers18   44451-
Bosch11   2463-9
Grobler8   1321--
Ferreira4   1110--
Morris7   2250--

Northern Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Yachadc van Zyl b Donald521171- 
VF du Preezb Donald361161373- 
MD Haysmanc Wilkinson b Parsons2561723- 
*LJ Barnardc East b Donald52737-- 
MJR Rindelc East b van Zyl4851798- 
+NT Daylbw b Parsons1026301- 
WF Morrisc Cronje b Parsons11115-- 
GR Groblerc East b van Zyl276-- 
PS de Villiersnot out468111371 
AM Ferreirac Strydom b van Heerden42778442 
T Boschc Wilkinson b van Heerden5119-- 
Extras(2 b, 12 lb, 10 nb, 1 w)25
Total(all out, 315 minutes, 78.5 overs)250
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Yachad), 2-64 (Haysman), 3-85 (Barnard), 4-86 (du Preez), 5-124 (Day), 6-132 (Morris), 7-135 (Grobler), 8-151 (Rindel), 9-240 (Ferreira), 10-250 (Bosch, 78.5 ov)
Orange Free State bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Donald19   270319
van Zyl23   7732-1
Parsons19   5513-1
van Heerden11.52322-1
Wilkinson6   3100--

Orange Free State second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PJR Steync Ferreira b Grobler2851575- 
WJ Cronjec Ferreira b Bosch1212-- 
*JJ Strydomb Bosch011-- 
AA Metcalfec Barnard b Morris33711094- 
GC Victorc Morris b Grobler21232221 
LJ Wilkinsonc Day b Bosch2750743- 
CJ van Heerdenc Haysman b Bosch837371- 
+RJ Eastc Haysman b Morris5641- 
CJPG van Zylnot out1136382- 
GJ Parsonsc and b de Villiers1324261- 
AA Donaldb de Villiers258-- 
Extras(4 b, 7 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)20
Total(all out, 198 minutes, 49.2 overs)169
Fall of wickets:
1-11 (Cronje), 2-11 (Strydom), 3-58 (Steyn), 4-89 (Victor), 5-114 (Metcalfe), 6-132 (Wilkinson), 7-137 (East), 8-137 (van Heerden), 9-159 (Parsons), 10-169 (Donald, 49.2 ov)
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
de Villiers13.224621-
Bosch14   3494-11
Grobler11   2382--
Morris11   2252--

Northern Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Yachadc Strydom b Donald89111- 
VF du Preeznot out3063873- 
MD Haysmanc Cronje b van Zyl62836-- 
*LJ Barnardc van Heerden b van Zyl3911-- 
MJR Rindelnot out2827275- 
+NT Daydid not bat      
WF Morrisdid not bat      
GR Groblerdid not bat      
PS de Villiersdid not bat      
AM Ferreiradid not bat      
T Boschdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 2 nb)7
Total(3 wickets, 87 minutes, 21.1 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Yachad), 2-25 (Haysman), 3-33 (Barnard)
Orange Free State bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Donald6   2121-1
van Zyl8   0192-2
Parsons6   0360--
East1   060--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> PJR Steyn (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 9
--> PS de Villiers (1) passed his previous highest score of 30 in First-Class matches
--> PS de Villiers reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed JJ Strydom, his 2nd wicket in the Orange Free State first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive