Victoria v New South Wales
Sheffield Shield 1979/80
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 21st, 22nd, 23rd, 24th December 1979 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to bat
ResultVictoria won by 1 wicket
PointsVictoria 15 (Batting 2, Bowling 3); New South Wales 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresKJ Carmody, WJ Copeland
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 217/5 (Walters 20*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (1) 162/4 (Moss 41*, Laughlin 22*)
Close of play day 3New South Wales (2) 172/5 (Walters 4*, Rixon 7*)

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RB McCoskerc Higgs b Leehane4     
J Dysonb Higgs46     
TM Chappellc Robinson b Higgs73     
IC Davisc Walker b Higgs46     
PM Tooheylbw b Higgs18     
KD Waltersc Whatmore b Walker24     
+SJ Rixonc Laughlin b Leehane0     
GR Beardlbw b Walker25     
GF Lawsonb Walker2     
RP Doneb Walker9     
RG Hollandnot out1     
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 1 w)13
Total(all out, 123.4 overs)261
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (McCosker), 2-113 (Dyson), 3-160 (Chappell), 4-185 (Davis), 5-217 (Toohey), 6-218 (Rixon), 7-232 (Walters), 8-234 (Lawson), 9-258 (Done), 10-261 (Beard, 123.4 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Leehane30   4722--
Laughlin5   2110--
Bright14   7190--
Higgs28   5794--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RG Matthewsc Davis b Lawson9     
DJ Broadc Rixon b Lawson3     
DF Whatmorelbw b Done18     
*GN Yallopc Done b Holland51     
JK Mossc Lawson b Chappell80     
TJ Laughlinb Beard30     
+RD Robinsonb Lawson8     
RJ Brightc Rixon b Beard3     
MHN Walkerc and b Lawson17     
JD Higgsnot out8     
JF Leehaneb Holland3     
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 14 nb)20
Total(all out, 109.2 overs)250
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Matthews), 2-17 (Broad), 3-49 (Whatmore), 4-125 (Yallop), 5-190 (Laughlin), 6-212 (Moss), 7-218 (Bright), 8-230 (Robinson), 9-243 (Walker), 10-250 (Leehane, 109.2 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lawson27   8754--
Done15   4251--
Beard36   19492--
Walters10   2230--
Chappell8   1191--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Dysonlbw b Walker71     
*RB McCoskerc Bright b Laughlin20     
TM Chappellc Laughlin b Higgs34     
IC Davisrun out9     
PM Tooheyc and b Higgs21     
KD Waltersnot out34     
+SJ Rixonb Higgs25     
GF Lawsonc Whatmore b Walker4     
GR Beardc Moss b Higgs0     
RP Donec Laughlin b Walker4     
RG Hollandnot out0     
Extras(4 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)12
Total(9 wickets, declared, 82 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-30 (McCosker), 2-85 (Chappell), 3-127 (Davis), 4-160 (Toohey), 5-162 (Dyson), 6-205 (Rixon), 7-214 (Lawson), 8-217 (Beard), 9-233 (Done)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Leehane4   0210--
Walker27   6583--
Laughlin12   0381--
Bright12   1270--
Higgs27   3784--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RG Matthewsc Rixon b Lawson0     
DJ Broadc Done b Beard37     
DF Whatmorec Beard b Holland88     
+RD Robinsonb Holland4     
*GN Yallopb Lawson22     
JK Mosslbw b Holland23     
TJ Laughlinnot out25     
RJ Brightc Lawson b Beard16     
MHN Walkerb Lawson14     
JD Higgsc Davis b Lawson1     
JF Leehanenot out4     
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 4 nb)13
Total(9 wickets, 76 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Matthews), 2-100 (Broad), 3-115 (Robinson), 4-146 (Whatmore), 5-182 (Moss), 6-182 (Yallop), 7-212 (Bright), 8-235 (Walker), 9-241 (Higgs)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lawson18   3474--
Done15   1450--
Beard15   0452--
Holland28   1973--

--> TM Chappell (1) passed 1000 runs in Sheffield Shield matches when he reached 42
--> IC Davis (1) passed 3500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 32
--> JK Moss (1) passed 2000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 22
--> J Dyson (2) passed 2000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 31
--> DF Whatmore (2) passed 2500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 72
--> GF Lawson reached 50 wickets in Sheffield Shield matches when he dismissed GN Yallop, his 2nd wicket in the Victoria second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive