Northamptonshire v Essex
Benson and Hedges Cup 1979 (Group C)
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 5th May 1979 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultEssex won by 3 runs
PointsNorthamptonshire 0; Essex 3
UmpiresBJ Meyer, CT Spencer
Man of the MatchKWR Fletcher

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
AW Lilleylbw b Willey2765764-41.54
GA Goochc Cook b Sarfraz Nawaz831351607161.48
KS McEwanc Watts b Larkins388--37.50
*KWR Fletcherb Sarfraz Nawaz65951094-68.42
BR Hardieb Griffiths35272631129.63
KR Pontnot out368--50.00
S Turnernot out321--150.00
N Phillipdid not bat      
+N Smithdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 4 nb, 1 w)11
Total(5 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)230
Fall of wickets:
1-67 (Lilley), 2-70 (McEwan), 3-166 (Gooch), 4-218 (Hardie), 5-226 (Fletcher)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Sarfraz Nawaz11   3412-433.003.73
Griffiths11   15811-66.005.27
TM Lamb10   2320---3.20
Watts4   0200---5.00
Willey11   0371--66.003.36
Larkins8   1311--48.003.88

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
G Cookc Gooch b Acfield4082793-48.78
W Larkinsc Gooch b Acfield4463864169.84
P Willeyb Pont82733--29.63
AJ Lambc Pont b Lever7790886285.56
TJ Yardleyb Phillip3344565-75.00
*PJ Wattslbw b Phillip031--0.00
+G Sharpb Lever51122--45.45
RG Williamsnot out5713--71.43
Sarfraz Nawaznot out232--66.67
TM Lambdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(13 lb)13
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)227
Fall of wickets:
1-85 (Cook), 2-88 (Larkins), 3-118 (Willey), 4-197 (Yardley), 5-197 (Watts), 6-217 (AJ Lamb), 7-225 (Sharp)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Lever11   1632--33.005.73
Phillip11   0322--33.002.91
Acfield11   1342--33.003.09
Turner11   1480---4.36
Pont11   1371--66.003.36

--> G Cook passed 3000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 40
--> AJ Lamb passed his previous highest score of 70 in ListA matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive