WSC West Indies v WSC Australia
WSC Australia in West Indies 1978/79 (1st Supertest)
VenueSabina Park, Kingston on 23rd, 24th, 25th, 26th February 1979 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWSC West Indies won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWSC West Indies won by 369 runs
UmpiresRG Gosein, D Sang Hue
Close of play day 1WSC Australia (1) 33/2 (GS Chappell 6*, Bright 2*)
Close of play day 2WSC West Indies (2) 228/5 (Lloyd 54*, Roberts 0*)
Close of play day 3WSC Australia (2) 91/4 (Bright 3*, TM Chappell 3*)
Man of the MatchCH Lloyd

WSC West Indies first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Austinc Gilmour b Lillee18     
DL Haynesrun out9     
RC Fredericksc Marsh b Gilmour12     
LG Rowec Marsh b Gilmour3     
IVA Richardsc Marsh b Lillee31     
*CH Lloydc GS Chappell b Lillee56     
+DL Murray hit wkt b Lillee11     
AME Robertsc Gilmour b Thomson6     
MA Holdingb Bright10     
CEH Croftc Marsh b Bright1     
WW Danielnot out17     
Extras(1 lb, 13 nb)14
Total(all out, 263 minutes, 56.2 overs)188
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Haynes), 2-38 (Austin), 3-45 (Fredericks), 4-50 (Rowe), 5-88 (Richards), 6-103 (Murray), 7-119 (Roberts), 8-138 (Holding), 9-148 (Croft), 10-188 (Lloyd, 56.2 ov)
WSC Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson14   3461--
Gilmour17   5402--
Bright7   1202--

WSC Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BM Lairdlbw b Holding14     
TM Chappelllbw b Daniel16     
*IM Chappellc sub (CL King) b Holding5     
GS Chappellc Murray b Roberts6     
RJ Brightlbw b Roberts10     
DW Hookesb Daniel23     
MF Kentc and b Croft9     
+RW Marshc Fredericks b Daniel3     
GJ Gilmourc Lloyd b Croft14     
DK Lilleec Austin b Croft1     
JR Thomsonnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)5
Total(all out, 181 minutes, 37 overs)106
Fall of wickets:
1-18 (IM Chappell), 2-29 (Laird), 3-33 (GS Chappell), 4-42 (Bright), 5-76 (Hookes), 6-87 (Kent), 7-87 (TM Chappell), 8-92 (Marsh), 9-106 (Gilmour), 10-106 (Lillee, 37 ov)
WSC West Indies bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roberts10   5182--
Holding9   2252--
Croft11   2343--
Daniel7   2243--

WSC West Indies second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Austinc GS Chappell b Lillee2     
DL Haynesc Laird b Lillee8     
RC Fredericksc Marsh b Lillee69     
LG Roweretired hurt0     
IVA Richardslbw b Thomson48     
*CH Lloydc Marsh b Lillee197  22- 
+DL Murrayc Lillee b Thomson28     
AME Robertsrun out (TM Chappell)89  112 
MA Holdingb Bright0     
CEH Croftnot out0     
WW Danielc Marsh b Bright1     
Extras(3 b, 17 lb, 19 nb)39
Total(all out, 483 minutes, 109.4 overs)481
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Austin), 2-44 (Haynes), 3-111 (Fredericks), 4-166 (Richards), 5-227 (Murray), 6-453 (Roberts), 7-460 (Holding), 8-480 (Lloyd), 9-481 (Daniel, 109.4 ov)
WSC Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lillee25   41004--
Thomson22   2682--
Gilmour20   2930--
Hookes7   0410--
IM Chappell4   0150--
GS Chappell3   0170--

WSC Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BM Lairdb Holding5     
*IM Chappellc Roberts b Croft41  51 
GS Chappellc Haynes b Holding20     
DW Hookesc sub (CL King) b Daniel15     
RJ Brightnot out47  7- 
TM Chappellb Holding3     
MF Kentlbw b Croft30     
+RW Marshb Croft3     
GJ Gilmourc Holding b Austin11     
DK Lilleec and b Roberts12     
JR Thomsonc Holding b Austin1     
Extras(2 lb, 4 nb)6
Total(all out, 51.4 overs)194
Fall of wickets:
1-22 (Laird), 2-46 (GS Chappell), 3-79 (Hookes), 4-83 (IM Chappell), 5-92 (TM Chappell), 6-158 (Kent), 7-162 (Marsh), 8-175 (Gilmour), 9-193 (Lillee), 10-194 (Thomson, 51.4 ov)
WSC West Indies bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roberts8   2141--
Holding10   1373--
Croft13   2703--
Daniel11   2431--

--> The match was scheduled for five days but completed in four.
--> TM Chappell retired hurt in the WSC Australia first innings (team had lost 0 wickets) - he returned when the score was 76/5
--> LG Rowe retired hurt in the WSC West Indies second innings having scored 0 (team score 44/2)

Attendance: Day 1 - 11000, Day 2 - 12000, Day 3 - 17000





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2024 CricketArchive