Essex v Northamptonshire
John Player League 1978
VenueValentine's Park, Ilford on 4th June 1978 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEssex won by 12 runs
PointsEssex 4; Northamptonshire 0
UmpiresDO Oslear, J van Geloven

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
MH Dennessc Carter b Larkins70     
GA Goochc Williams b Hodgson6     
KS McEwanc Carter b Hodgson29     
*KWR Fletcherc Watts b Larkins27     
KR Pontb Larkins24     
BR Hardiec Cook b Watts6     
N Phillipc Williams b Larkins3     
S Turnernot out8     
RE Eastb Larkins5     
+N Smithnot out2     
JK Leverdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 1 w)8
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 36 overs)188
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-65, 3-135, 4-137, 5-168, 6-172, 7-174, 8-186
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Griffiths8   0410---5.12
Hodgson8   0302--24.003.75
Lamb8   0410---5.12
Watts7   0361--42.005.14
Larkins5   0325--6.006.40

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
G Cookc Phillip b Turner45     
DS Steelec Smith b Turner13     
TJ Yardleyc East b Turner12     
W Larkinsc Smith b Pont13     
RG Williamsc Denness b Pont12     
*PJ Wattsb Phillip21     
+G Sharpnot out33     
RM Carterb Lever0     
TM Lambnot out13     
A Hodgsondid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(9 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)14
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 36 overs)176
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-68, 3-81, 4-104, 5-112, 6-160, 7-161
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Lever8   1361--48.004.50
Phillip8   1401--48.005.00
Turner8   2163--16.002.00
East4   0290---7.25
Pont8   1412--24.005.12

--> The match was reduced to 36 overs per side
--> G Cook passed 2500 runs in List A matches when he reached 12
--> W Larkins achieved his best innings bowling analysis in List A matches in the Essex innings (previous best was 4-38)
--> W Larkins achieved his first five wickets in an innings in List A matches in the Essex innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive