Australia v India
India in Australia 1977/78 (3rd Test)
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 30th, 31st December 1977, 2nd, 3rd, 4th January 1978 (5-day match)
Balls per over8
TossIndia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultIndia won by 222 runs
UmpiresRA French, MG O'Connell
ScorersBW Bright (Australia), MP Ringham (India)
Close of play day 1India (1) 234/6 (Mankad 30*)
Close of play day 2India (2) 50/1 (Gavaskar 25*, Kirmani 5*)
Close of play day 3India (2) 234/4 (Gavaskar 103*, Mankad 15*)
Close of play day 4Australia (2) 123/8 (Clark 2*, Thomson 0*)

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Gavaskarc Rixon b Thomson0912-- 
CPS Chauhanc Mann b Clark069-- 
M Amarnathc Simpson b Clark721782693- 
GR Viswanathc Rixon b Thomson59951544- 
DB Vengsarkarc Simpson b Thomson3788942- 
AV Mankadc Clark b Gannon441001191- 
+SMH Kirmanilbw b Simpson2962851- 
KD Ghavric Rixon b Gannon62026-- 
EAS Prasannab Clark016-- 
*BS Bedinot out214-- 
BS Chandrasekharb Clark012-- 
Extras(3 lb, 4 nb)7
Total(all out, 391 minutes, 69.2 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Chauhan), 2-0 (Gavaskar), 3-105 (Viswanath), 4-174 (Vengsarkar), 5-180 (Amarnath), 6-234 (Kirmani), 7-254 (Ghavri), 8-254 (Mankad), 9-256 (Prasanna), 10-256 (Chandrasekhar, 69.2 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson16   2783--
Gannon14   2472--
Cosier12   3250--
Simpson3   1111--
Mann5   1150--

Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Dysonb Ghavri022-- 
GJ Cosierc Chauhan b Chandrasekhar671011259- 
AD Ogilvielbw b Ghavri61023-- 
CS Serjeantb Chandrasekhar851702168- 
*RB Simpsonc Mankad b Chandrasekhar232-- 
PM Tooheyc Viswanath b Bedi1436431- 
AL Mannc Gavaskar b Bedi111291- 
+SJ Rixonlbw b Chandrasekhar1149451- 
WM Clarklbw b Chandrasekhar31520-- 
JR Thomsonc Ghavri b Chandrasekhar022-- 
JB Gannonnot out025-- 
Extras(6 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)14
Total(all out, 252 minutes, 50.1 overs)213
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Dyson), 2-18 (Ogilvie), 3-122 (Cosier), 4-124 (Simpson), 5-166 (Toohey), 6-178 (Mann), 7-202 (Rixon), 8-211 (Serjeant), 9-211 (Clark), 10-213 (Thomson, 50.1 ov)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghavri9   0372--
Gavaskar2   070--
Bedi15   2712--
Prasanna10   1320--

India second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Gavaskarc Serjeant b Gannon11828535112- 
CPS Chauhanrun out2027452- 
+SMH Kirmanic Thomson b Mann2962822- 
GR Viswanathlbw b Clark54941144- 
DB Vengsarkarc Cosier b Clark62018-- 
AV Mankadb Clark38841302- 
M Amarnathb Cosier411001153- 
KD Ghavric Simpson b Clark610131- 
EAS Prasannac Rixon b Gannon1123321- 
*BS Bedinot out121330-- 
BS Chandrasekharlbw b Cosier012-- 
Extras(1 lb, 7 nb)8
Total(all out, 474 minutes, 88.7 overs)343
Fall of wickets:
1-40 (Chauhan), 2-89 (Kirmani), 3-187 (Viswanath), 4-198 (Vengsarkar), 5-265 (Gavaskar), 6-286 (Mankad), 7-294 (Ghavri), 8-315 (Prasanna), 9-343 (Amarnath), 10-343 (Chandrasekhar, 88.7 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clark29   3964--
Gannon22   4882--
Thomson18   4470--
Mann4   0241--
Simpson3   0220--

Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Dysonlbw b Bedi1231481- 
GJ Cosierb Chandrasekhar345563-- 
AD Ogilviec Chauhan b Bedi042-- 
CS Serjeantb Chandrasekhar1741431- 
*RB Simpsonlbw b Chandrasekhar477-- 
PM Tooheyc Chauhan b Chandrasekhar145352-- 
AL Mannc Gavaskar b Chandrasekhar18565911 
+SJ Rixonc and b Chandrasekhar124949-- 
WM Clarkc Ghavri b Bedi3360633- 
JR Thomsonc and b Bedi74638-- 
JB Gannonnot out388-- 
Extras(6 b, 4 lb)10
Total(all out, 225 minutes, 51.1 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-42 (Dyson), 2-42 (Ogilvie), 3-52 (Cosier), 4-60 (Simpson), 5-77 (Serjeant), 6-98 (Toohey), 7-115 (Mann), 8-122 (Rixon), 9-151 (Thomson), 10-164 (Clark, 51.1 ov)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghavri4   0290--
Amarnath3   0100--
Prasanna8   450--
Chandrasekhar20   3526--

--> M Amarnath (1) passed 1000 runs in Test matches when he reached 25
--> CS Serjeant (1) passed his previous highest score of 81 in Test matches
--> WM Clark (2) passed his previous highest score of 15 in Test matches
--> WM Clark (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in first-class matches
--> KD Ghavri made his debut in Australia in Test matches
--> JB Gannon reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed AV Mankad, his 2nd wicket in the India first innings
--> JR Thomson reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed DB Vengsarkar, his 3rd wicket in the India first innings
--> BS Chandrasekhar reached 200 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed GJ Cosier, his 1st wicket in the Australia first innings

12th Men: KJ Hughes (Australia), Madan Lal (India)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive