Essex v Leicestershire
Gillette Cup 1977 (2nd Round)
VenueSouthchurch Park, Southend-on-Sea on 13th July 1977 (60-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 87 runs
UmpiresTF Brooks, JF Crapp
Man of the MatchJF Steele

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
JF Steeleb Turner8     
J Birkenshawlbw b Lever0     
JC Balderstonec Hardie b Pont16     
BF Davisonc and b Gooch99     
DI Gowerc Acfield b Turner17     
+RW Tolchardrun out32     
PB Cliftc McEwan b Lever15     
*R Illingworthnot out9     
P Boothdid not bat      
A Warddid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 16 lb, 4 nb, 3 w)29
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 60 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-16, 3-66, 4-128, 5-176, 6-211, 7-225 (60 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Lever12   3202--36.001.67
Turner12   1362--36.003.00
Pont12   2321--72.002.67
Gooch10   0391--60.003.90
East9   0440---4.89
Acfield5   0250---5.00

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
BR Hardieb Steele35     
MH Dennesslbw b Ward4     
KS McEwanb Steele31     
GA Goochc Tolchard b Steele0     
*KWR Fletcherb Steele16     
KR Pontc Tolchard b Steele1     
S Turnerc and b Higgs16     
RE Eastlbw b Clift8     
+N Smithc Davison b Balderstone12     
JK Leverb Higgs3     
DL Acfieldnot out0     
Extras(9 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 53.1 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-67, 3-67, 4-92, 5-97, 6-100, 7-118, 8-123, 9-132, 10-138 (53.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Higgs9   1132--27.001.44
Ward7   2151--42.002.14
Booth7   0340---4.86
Clift6   0191--36.003.17
Steele12   6195--14.401.58
Illingworth12   3260---2.17

--> RW Tolchard passed 4000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 8
--> JF Steele achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ListA matches in the Essex innings (previous best was 4-27)
--> JF Steele achieved his first five wickets in an innings in ListA matches in the Essex innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive