Yorkshire v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1976
VenueNorth Marine Road, Scarborough on 8th, 9th, 10th September 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 198 runs
PointsYorkshire 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Northamptonshire 18 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresDO Oslear, CG Pepper
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 53/2 (Love 8*, Cope 11*; 24 overs)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 209/7 (Sarfraz Nawaz 12*, Hodgson 15*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginlbw b Silvester0     
G Cookc Bairstow b Stevenson117     
DS Steelerun out41     
*Mushtaq Mohammadc Boycott b Cope37     
P Willeyb Carrick32     
W Larkinsc Boycott b Cope54     
+G Sharpc Cooper b Athey10     
Sarfraz Nawazc Athey b Carrick11     
A Hodgsonnot out4     
BS Bedib Carrick0     
JCJ Dyec Boycott b Carrick0     
Extras(13 lb, 4 nb)17
Total(all out, 96.1 overs)323
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-131, 3-183, 4-225, 5-241, 6-280, 7-309, 8-323, 9-323, 10-323 (96.1 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Silvester6   0191--
Cooper11   1380--
Stevenson11   0701--
Cope36   10922--
Athey2   191--

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Boycottrun out17     
CWJ Atheylbw b Dye10     
JD Loveb Bedi32     
GA Copeb Sarfraz Nawaz35     
C Johnsonc Cook b Hodgson3     
K Sharpb Sarfraz Nawaz19     
+DL Bairstowc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz25     
P Carrickc and b Bedi22     
GB Stevensonc and b Bedi4     
HP Cooperb Sarfraz Nawaz16     
S Silvesternot out0     
Extras(8 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 75.5 overs)200
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-29, 3-92, 4-109, 5-109, 6-151, 7-166, 8-178, 9-194, 10-200 (75.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz26.55804--
Dye7   1161--
Bedi25   13413--
Mushtaq Mohammad5   330--
Hodgson12   2431--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginlbw b Cope61     
G Cookc Stevenson b Silvester0     
DS Steelec Bairstow b Carrick33     
P Willeyc Stevenson b Carrick14     
W Larkinsc Stevenson b Cooper24     
*Mushtaq Mohammadc Sharp b Cooper33     
+G Sharpst Bairstow b Carrick1     
Sarfraz Nawaznot out12     
A Hodgsonnot out15     
BS Bedidid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(12 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)16
Total(7 wickets, declared, 55 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-99, 3-99, 4-131, 5-177, 6-180, 7-192
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Silvester6   1211--
Cooper11   6212--
Stevenson6   1260--
Cope16   2661--
Carrick16   3593--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Boycottc Virgin b Bedi23     
CWJ Atheyb Bedi7     
JD Lovec Cook b Willey0     
C Johnsonc Cook b Willey2     
K Sharpc Virgin b Bedi2     
+DL Bairstowc Steele b Bedi10     
P Carrickc Willey b Bedi33     
GB Stevensonc Steele b Bedi0     
HP Cooperc Hodgson b Bedi22     
GA Copeb Willey10     
S Silvesternot out11     
Extras(3 b, 8 lb, 3 nb)14
Total(all out, 51.1 overs)134
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-27, 3-33, 4-35, 5-39, 6-57, 7-57, 8-108, 9-109, 10-134 (51.1 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz5   1100--
Dye6   3130--
Bedi21   6417--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> K Sharp made his debut in County Championship matches
--> K Sharp made his debut in First-Class matches
--> G Cook (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 107
--> P Willey (2) passed 6000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 5
--> P Willey (2) passed 7000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> Sarfraz Nawaz reached 500 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Yorkshire first innings
--> BS Bedi reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 6th wicket in the Yorkshire second innings
--> BS Bedi reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 6th wicket in the Yorkshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive