Surrey v Hampshire
County Championship 1976
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 31st July, 2nd, 3rd August 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 5 wickets
PointsSurrey 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Hampshire 5 (Batting 2, Bowling 3)
UmpiresC Cook, R Julian
ScorersJ Hill (Surrey), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 43/0 (Edrich 21*, Butcher 20*; 23 overs)
Close of play day 2Surrey (2) 0/1 (Butcher 0*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardsc sub b Jackman120     
DJ Rockc Skinner b Jackman20     
DR Turnerc Edrich b Jackman4     
TE Jestyc Skinner b Jackman10     
*RMC Gilliatc Skinner b Jackman0     
AJ Murtaghc Roope b Jackman7     
PJ Sainsburylbw b Jackman0     
NGC Cowleyb Jackman40     
JM Riceb Pocock25     
+GR Stephensonlbw b Roope4     
JW Southernnot out4     
Extras(11 lb)11
Total(all out, 80.4 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-65, 2-71, 3-111, 4-111, 5-123, 6-143, 7-180, 8-219, 9-227, 10-245 (80.4 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold10   2220--
Roope23   6751--
Pocock13   4331--
Intikhab Alam5   1250--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JH Edrichc and b Cowley49     
AR Butcherc Richards b Murtagh57     
GP Howarthc Jesty b Southern30     
Younis Ahmedc Stephenson b Southern28     
GRJ Roopec Murtagh b Southern4     
TMG Hanselllbw b Sainsbury1     
+LE Skinnerc Gilliat b Sainsbury15     
Intikhab Alamc Stephenson b Sainsbury6     
RD Jackmanlbw b Sainsbury16     
GG Arnoldnot out11     
PI Pocockc Turner b Sainsbury0     
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(all out, 107 overs)219
Fall of wickets:
1-105, 2-109, 3-158, 4-162, 5-171, 6-171, 7-177, 8-207, 9-208, 10-219 (107 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rice18   4480--
Jesty18   4410--
Cowley13   4221--
Murtagh10   4221--
Sainsbury26   12405--
Southern22   8443--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardslbw b Arnold13     
JM Ricelbw b Pocock15     
DR Turnerc Skinner b Intikhab Alam5     
TE Jestyc Roope b Intikhab Alam14     
DJ Rockc Roope b Pocock1     
*RMC Gilliatc Howarth b Pocock14     
AJ Murtaghc Howarth b Pocock0     
PJ Sainsburylbw b Intikhab Alam1     
NGC Cowleyst Skinner b Intikhab Alam7     
+GR Stephensonc Roope b Jackman41     
JW Southernnot out5     
Extras(1 b, 1 nb)2
Total(all out, 43.1 overs)118
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-25, 3-38, 4-50, 5-52, 6-53, 7-54, 8-68, 9-75, 10-118 (43.1 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold4   071--
Pocock16   6394--
Intikhab Alam18   6444--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PI Pocockc Stephenson b Rice0     
AR Butcherc Cowley b Southern31     
*JH Edrichc Stephenson b Sainsbury6     
GP Howarthb Southern52     
Younis Ahmedb Sainsbury8     
GRJ Roopenot out30     
TMG Hansellnot out18     
+LE Skinnerdid not bat      
Intikhab Alamdid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
GG Arnolddid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, 57 overs)145
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-6, 3-51, 4-69, 5-107
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rice3   151--
Jesty3   120--
Cowley7   1180--
Sainsbury22   9352--
Southern22   5852--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> DJ Rock made his debut in First-Class matches
--> DJ Rock made his debut in County Championship matches
--> TE Jesty (1) passed 6000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 2
--> JH Edrich (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 42
--> AR Butcher (1) passed 1500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 16
--> NGC Cowley (2) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 5
--> JH Edrich (2) passed 37500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 6
--> RD Jackman achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Hampshire first innings (previous best was 7-36)
--> GRJ Roope reached 200 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Hampshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive