Sussex v Hampshire
County Championship 1976
VenueCounty Ground, Hove on 21st, 22nd, 23rd July 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSussex won by 6 wickets
PointsSussex 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Hampshire 7 (Batting 4, Bowling 3)
UmpiresWL Budd, DGL Evans
ScorersS Hicks (Sussex), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Sussex (1) 38/1 (Barclay 19*, Phillipson 4*; 18 overs)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 127/5 (Sainsbury 31*, Cowley 41*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardsc Long b Marshall136     
P Barrettlbw b Spencer4     
DR Turnerc Javed Miandad b Marshall13     
TE Jestyc Graves b Waller48     
*RMC Gilliatb Marshall18     
PJ Sainsburyc Parker b Waller6     
NGC Cowleyc Javed Miandad b Marshall0     
JM Riceb Spencer71     
TM Tremlettb Waller4     
+GR Stephensonc Graves b Spencer42     
JW Southernnot out0     
Extras(3 b, 5 lb, 7 nb, 1 w)16
Total(all out, 99.3 overs)358
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-43, 3-194, 4-213, 5-228, 6-228, 7-234, 8-242, 9-351, 10-358 (99.3 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall23   2904--
Buss4   2180--
Phillipson12   1600--
Waller30   9633--
Javed Miandad5   0250--
Barclay6   2180--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JRT Barclayc Gilliat b Sainsbury81     
JD Morleyc Cowley b Jesty8     
CP Phillipsonc Turner b Tremlett23     
*PJ Gravesc Richards b Southern11     
Javed Miandadb Sainsbury5     
PWG Parkerc Stephenson b Southern10     
+A Longc Jesty b Cowley22     
MA Bussnot out33     
J Spencerc Rice b Richards2     
CE Wallernot out0     
RPT Marshalldid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 7 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)18
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)213
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-73, 3-108, 4-129, 5-148, 6-172, 7-189, 8-209
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rice17   9240--
Jesty18   9251--
Tremlett9   1271--
Sainsbury18   10322--
Southern30   7652--
Cowley6   0131--
Richards2   091--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Richardsc Long b Spencer5     
P Barrettc Barclay b Spencer10     
DR Turnerc Barclay b Phillipson31     
TE Jestyrun out0     
*RMC Gilliatc Long b Marshall4     
PJ Sainsburynot out47     
NGC Cowleynot out62     
JM Ricedid not bat      
TM Tremlettdid not bat      
+GR Stephensondid not bat      
JW Southerndid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 2 nb)6
Total(5 wickets, declared, 57 overs)165
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-18, 3-23, 4-28, 5-51
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall16   1591--
Spencer11   4292--
Buss1   100--
Phillipson11   0371--
Waller10   3150--
Javed Miandad4   1130--
Barclay4   060--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JRT Barclayb Sainsbury63     
JD Morleyb Rice9     
*PJ Gravesc Richards b Southern34     
Javed Miandadnot out135     
PWG Parkerb Sainsbury19     
MA Bussnot out44     
CP Phillipsondid not bat      
+A Longdid not bat      
J Spencerdid not bat      
CE Wallerdid not bat      
RPT Marshalldid not bat      
Extras(6 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(4 wickets, 110.2 overs)311
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-88, 3-123, 4-182
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jesty13   2420--
Tremlett1   060--
Sainsbury35   18622--
Southern27   6841--
Cowley15   3390--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Day 1 Lunch: Hampshire (1) ?/? (Richards 112*, [unknown] ?*)
--> TM Tremlett made his debut in First-Class matches
--> TM Tremlett made his debut in County Championship matches
--> BA Richards (1) passed 25500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 17
--> NGC Cowley (2) passed his previous highest score of 47 in First-Class matches
--> NGC Cowley (2) passed his previous highest score of 47 in County Championship matches
--> Javed Miandad (2) passed his previous highest score of 11 in County Championship matches
--> Javed Miandad (2) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> J Spencer reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Hampshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive